Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sir42

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 16, 2003
NY, NY
I am looking to create a very simple app. Essentially it’s a backend database connected to a user facing skin, not unlike imdb.com. For example, the database would have lists of movies and actors, and the user could click on a movie to see which actors are in it, and click on an actor's name to find out what other movies they are in.

I have zero programming experience, and I am just looking to build the 1.0 version of this app myself. If I get positive feedback I’ll bring on developers to build a better UI and a more robust database. But I’d like to try to get something very basic off the ground first.

I suppose for the moment I need a backend database and a way to design the UI. I could try to build the UI myself in Xcode but I’m not above using an existing template. Is there a Squarespce for iOS app development?

I noticed that Microsoft Azure has an App Service that could make it easy to create a UI for both web and iOS, the connects to their own SQL, all with every little programming. Is that a good option?

My preference would be that whatever tools I use are free or very low cost as this is just a hobby for the moment. Also, I’m hoping a future developer could take what I’ve done and either build upon my groundwork or import the data into a more robust solution.

What are the best tools to build this initial version of the app?

Thanks!

Dookieman

macrumors 6502
Oct 12, 2009
You could try Firebase. Its simple and has an easy to use framework for iOS. Most of the backend word is done for you, its' great.

There are some websites that claim to be drag and drop app building platforms but I haven't used them. I doubt they have integration with a database since that would require specific knowledge of what REST calls you want make as well as custom database parameters.