Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Stuttter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 7, 2006
Ireland
Hi,

I've been running a 12" 1GHz powerbook hooked up to a monitor for the past 2 years. I'm an illustrator and use photoshop 80% of the time. File sizes are getting bigger (upto 500mb lately) and my current machine is struggling. I'm no gamer and don't use a 3d package.

Was thinking of getting another laptop, top spec macbook pro, but would I be better off going back to a tower with a mid range mac pro?

is the standard graphics card good enough for photoshop or should I be looking to upgrade?

all advice greatly appreciated.

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
Graphics cards are not that relevant when discussing Photoshop performance.

If you're a pro, then the only reasons for selecting a laptop over a tower should be portability and/or space-saving. Both machines you've mentioned would work fine but you might get a little more life from the tower... they take up space though and you'll need a decent monitor too if you work in Photoshop almost all the time.

Remember to budget for at least 1.5gb of RAM if you're Photoshopping, preferably 2gb+ if the machine can take it.

FFTT

macrumors 68030
Apr 17, 2004
A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
I would max out the RAM in your PB and keep it for your portable needs then buy a 2.66 GHz Mac Pro for your primary workstation.

As a professional, you'll not only benefit from the gain in perfomance, but also benefit from the larger and faster 7200 RPM HD's.

As the others have mentioned, you'll want to configure your system with 2 GB RAM
to counter Rosetta's RAm cravings for your Adobe PPC applications.

Stuttter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 7, 2006
Ireland
Is 2 Gb of ram enough, would I see much of a difference if I had 4 or 8?