Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

caioferrari

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 14, 2012
Hi,
I’m a teacher and I’m totally sure that a MBA has enough performance for me. If I were in USA, I’d buy a 13” model with 16/256 for 1299 or 16/512 for 1499.

But I live in Brazil and here, Apple oficial prices are crazy and we usually buy from unofficial stores who independently import the products. Those people gets reasonably lower prices for base configs and not so good prices on other configs.

The MBA 8/256 is U$1600
MBA 16/512 is U$2400
MBP 18/512 is U$2700

Does worth buying the AIR model instead of PRO?

LeeW

macrumors 601
Feb 5, 2017
Over here
If you are happy with the 8GB MBA for your use case, $1600 is far cheaper. But if you are going to go for the 16GB MBA, then it would seem more logical to me to pay an extra $300 for the Pro. But do you need the Pro? Only you can answer that. Compare the feature differences and decide based on what is important to you.

caioferrari

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 14, 2012
If you are happy with the 8GB MBA for your use case, $1600 is far cheaper. But if you are going to go for the 16GB MBA, then it would seem more logical to me to pay an extra $300 for the Pro. But do you need the Pro? Only you can answer that. Compare the feature differences and decide based on what is important to you.
I totally don’t need the pro. Is just don’t think is reasonable to buy a 8gb machine. So, the MBA is amost the pro price :(

DaveEcc

macrumors member
Oct 17, 2022
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Question about the other stores. Are those prices pre or post tax? I ask because it seems Apple gives both a pre and post-tax price on their Brasil store (I think).

Looking at the Brasil education store, it's 13800 / 15360 real for the Air w/ 16/512. Which is $2750 / $3050 USD.