Airport problems

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mikefly, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. mikefly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #1
    Heya,

    Did a search, but couldn't find any answers --

    In internet connect, I show a network connection (from strong to weak).

    However, often when I load Safari (or Firefox, or Azureus), it tells me that I don't have a connection.

    Is this common?
    Any ideas why?

    Thanks,

    Mike
     
  2. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #2
    You don't have to have an internet connection for you to be connected to your local network.

    Is your internet connection working?
     
  3. mikefly thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    #3
    hmm

    not sure I understand your question..

    Are you saying that although i'm connected to the wireless network, the network is not connected to the internet?

    This happens (connected but not connected) frequently enough that I'm asking the question -- it's not actually my connection, so I can't be 100% sure of the quality of the connect -- it just seems odd to me that the network would be dropping the internet connection so frequently.

    Mike
     
  4. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

    psycoswimmer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    I have an Airport Express that is 5 feet from my iMac and it works fine. However, I can "see" about 5 wireless networks from neighbors' houses. Some of them work, with low reception. Others show 2 bars but do not work, as in Safari says there is no connection. If it's not your network, I'm not sure if you can do that much troubleshooting about it.
     
  5. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #5
    Yes, that's what your problem sounds like.

    If it happens a few times a day, I'd say that is not unusual, but if it happens a lot, your neighbor should give a call to his ISP. :)
     
  6. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #6
    Try plugging your computer directly into the modem and see if you can access the internet. (Don't leave it this way though as you are wide open to the internet... Not safe)

    I am saying your internet connection (comcast, roadrunner, verizon or whoever you have) may not be working.

    Sounds like your actual network is working fine though...
     

Share This Page