Anyone in UK got AOL/PANTHER/AIRPORT working??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jbrown, May 25, 2004.

  1. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
  2. wide macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    I don't live in the UK, but why don't you just put the Panther Install Disks into your computer's CD drive, run them, then set up your AirPort wireless base station, configure it to your needs so your computer can get the signal, then download and install AOL and set the connection to ISP/LAN?

    You should elaborate on your problem if you want any detailed help.
     
  3. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Well.....

    I simplified it in hope of a response - the time I've tried to get help on this issue before drew 0 replies!! Here is what I posted before:

    " In the old days - aka Jagwire - when I connected to my Airport network, it signed on to the AOL number, started AOL and connected via TCP/IP, I was connected and could check my e-mails, and surf web pages -- but now ( on Panther ) - I can get as far as signing on and checking my mail, but cant get any web pages to launch - either in AOL or Safari ---- any thought people??? "

    AOL help says its Apples problem, and you guessed it, Apple says its AOL's problem, leaving me with an expensive useless Airport set up -- any help much appreciated!!!
    I'm on dial-up by the way
     
  4. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #4
  5. fleaworld macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Set this up yesterday for a client in 5 mins, worked first time.
     
  6. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    everyone get demon they are mac freindly cheap (£25 a month) and generally nice people aol are horrible and make you use there weird software with all this child safty crap that none really wants
     
  7. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Thats encourageing Flea!

    How, and was it dial-up??
     
  8. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #8
    Apparently the UK AOL software doesn't support airport. The US version does. I don't use AOL so I can't confirm this. Last months iCreate magazine mentioned it however and said that if you download the US version of the software but use the UK numbers it does work.
     

Share This Page