Apple Fixes Keyboard Freezing on MacBook and MacBook Pros

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by Bern, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    This update addresses a responsiveness issue on MacBook and MacBook Pro notebook computers. Some MacBook and MacBook Pro systems may occasionally experience a temporary suspension of keyboard input which can last a minute or longer. The Mac OS X 10.5.1 update is required before installing the MacBook, MacBook Pro Software Update 1.1.


    Get in Software Update :)
     
  2. Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I'm not gonna install this one...my first ignored update :)
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #3
    Updated...

    My girlfriend shall be EXTREMELY happy about this.
     
  4. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #4
    Apple Fixes Keyboard Freezing on MacBook and MacBook Pros

    [​IMG]

    Apple has released MacBook, MacBook Pro Software Update 1.1 today which addresses a keyboard-freezing issue seen by many MacBook and MacBook Pro users under Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard:
    Article Link
     
  5. Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    A bit of a premature headline, we don't know if it works...like the iMac freezing original fix...
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #6
    Will it fix command line inputs when using RDC

    Hi. I use Microsoft RDC (Remote Desktop Connection) to connect to my work laptop (I have to use Windows for work, but I might as well display it on my Mac and keep all my Mac stuff handy - plus I can use all the Mac shortcuts which helps stop my brain getting confuddled). If I am in the command line interface - which isn't often but a few times tonight) the keyboard seems to behave very oddly - no '\' and I had to have caps lock on to press shift and get a capital letter. This could of course be any of the following:-
    a) Windows is useless
    b) RDC is still Beta
    c) for some reason the MacBook keyboard just isn't compatible with Windows/command line interface
    d) something I haven't thought of
    e) all of the above

    Just felt like sharing .... !:)

    Renko
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Location:
    So Cal
    #7
    so does this fix the non-responsive keyboard after waking from deep sleep? or the issue where the first few key strokes are not recognized?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #8
    My poor MBP no longer suffers from dyslexia! :)


    ariza, first key press seems to be fixed here, rare I get the unresponsive keyboard though so I can't test right now.


    Safari is snappier after update.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    ArmyKnight12

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Here
    #9
    What about the screen freezing issues that Tiger users like myself are experiencing with MBP's? :apple:
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ballinagh, Ireland
    #10
    MacBook Pro keyboard update

    Installed the keyboard update without problems. It took about 2 minutes after it finished the install before the system came back up but have had no problems since. Had some intermittent keyboard problems before but none so far with the upgrade.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    bmcgrath

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #11
    eh.... Were santa rosa users the only people having this issue or was it all Macbooks/ Pro from core duo up to core duo2?
    Because I have a Core Duo MBP with the update yet I've never had an issue with the keyboard.

    Just curios
     
  12. macrumors regular

    macinfojunkie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #12
    Seeing as RDC is still in beta, have you tried submitting a bug report to Microsoft? Since Mac OS has substantial keyboard differences with the remote Windows OS, I'd be inclined to think that this is an issue with the way the RDC application is translating Mac commands to windows commands.

    • Have you tried connecting via RDC from another Windows PC? If that works then we can probably conclude that Windows is not useless.
    • Have you tried connecting with the older version of RDC that was not in beta?
    • Have you tried connecting from a different Mac?
    • Are the language settings of both machines the same?

    All of the above might yield a clue as to the issue, but I'd be surprised if it is going to be fixed by an Apple patch. I've experienced similar quirks when connecting Mac-Pc or PC-Mac using various remote connection tools like VNC etc. and usually the issues have been down to a bug in the application or a config setting affecting the way that keyboard commands are translated.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #13
    Still installing 15 minutes later...
     
  14. macrumors regular

    macinfojunkie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    #14
    I've had that same issue on my 2.33 Ghz C2D MBP since I got it. I never let the machine sleep because of that as I always have to cold power down which I don't like doing. How hard can it be for Apple to make that feature work? I have a Dell machine for work which cost a quarter of the cash and that seems much more reliable in this regard. Come on Apple! [puts on fireproof vest]
     
  15. Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Try using LogMeIn instead of RDC :)
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #16
    I haven't installed yet, but I have had this problem on my month old macbook. Closing the lid and opening it back up has worked every time so far, but is still annoying. I hope this update works.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Florianópolis - South Brazil
    #17
    Santa Rosa Macbook

    I only experienced this problem once in my santa rosa macbook, and it didn't last more than a few seconds! After the first leopard update, it never happened again. People are still having this problem?
    It seems to happen quite randomly, right?
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #18
    WTF!!!

    wheres the fix for 10.4 users, Apple this is beyond belief that a top flight laptop will not always register the first key typed.Plus, cannot stay connected via wireless for more than a few minutes on a good day :mad:
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    WhySoSerious

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #19
    wtf...? i click on software update and it's not detecting anything for me to update. it says i'm already up to date on everything.

    am i missing something here? why is it not picking up this "update" apple released. can someone pls post an image of what is to be updated...? :confused:


    edit: ahh....i'm on tiger...maybe it's because it's only for leopard. ghey as ghey can get. stick a peppermint candy cane up my @zz and shove me on my way.
     
  20. arn
    macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #20
    Direct download link to update:

    http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/macbookmacbookprosoftwareupdate11.html

    arn
     
  21. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    I didnt even realise I had this issue
    I knew about the unresponsivness from sleep, but I thought the first key not being picked up was just typing badly
    hopefully thisll fit it! :)
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #22
    Now if they only fixed that stupid Quicktime update.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, UK
    #23
    To my memory the initial iMac update didn't openly advertise that it fixed the problem, it was just assumed.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #24
    The colors of my screen (MBP) seem to be changed a bit after i installed the update. anyone else has this?
    also the mouse pointer can be moved a pixel too far left and up, but maybe it was already like this before the update and i'm just noticing it now..
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #25
    Similar issue on Mac Pro?

    Recently I've been having an issue on my Mac Pro which sounds similar. For no apparent reason my BlueTooth Apple keyboard and mighty mouse stop working for up to a minute, is this issue exclusively MacBook and MacBook Pros?
    Before I go off looking to track down the source of this annoyance :)
     

Share This Page