Apples atomic clock

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by MacNut, Sep 30, 2002.

  1. macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #1
    My computer is set to update to Apples atomic clock, but recently my computer says the server is down and my clock hasnt uptated in about a week. Is this a problem others are having or is it just me?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    Just you, dude.

    I just synchronized by Date & Time panel with Apple's network time server. Sorry, bucko.
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    Apple's atomic clock?

    They have their own? Where do they keep it? I've been and seen the one at the Naval Observatory here in DC - and one of the people who works there has the best job title

    Right on his door is

    Dr. John Smith (don't remember his name)
    Director of Time

    D
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #4
    I don't think Apple has their own. Sure, they have an NTP server, but I've never heard of them having their own atomic clock...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #5
    atomic clock server error

    I have been getting error messeges saying that the clock cannot uptade because the server isnt responding. This has been happening over the past week now. Is anyone else experiencing this?
     
  6. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    time.apple.com

    Works for me.
     
  7. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #7
    Works or me too, and I'm on a PC. :)
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    pimentoLoaf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    The SimCity Deli
    #8
    Running X.1.5 and had no problem synch'ing -- after I reconfigured Norton Personal Firewall to allow accesses to 17.254.0.27 ...
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #9
    Re: Apples atomic clock

    When server you syncing with? Have you tried all three???
     
  10. Lz0
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #10
    Like madamimadam said there is more than one server to try. And like all servers they must have downtime (no pun intended).


    P.S. madamimadam Love your location: BrisVegas... the place to be.... or is that Melbourne???
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    madamimadam

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    #11
    ROFL... I am actually originally from Melbourne but I thought those rego plates were halerious... talk about vain.
    :) :) :)

    On a side note, I had a ticket to the Grand Final last week but did not go after I found out Virgin wanted $600 to get down there.... what a rip off.

    I was going for the wood anyway
    ;)
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #12
    If your a real time geek go to time.gov.
    In the year 2000 1 second had to be added to the atomic clock or a day would dissapear in like the year 3500.:eek:
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Location:
    Champaign, IL, USA
    #13
    yeah, well, it would be different if ansett was still around.... f:eek:ing new zealanders...
     

Share This Page