AppleTV "Can't check for update" ???

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ayale99, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    260
    #1
    So I'm trying to update to 2.1 and all I get is a message that says "AppleTV can't check right now. Try again later." :eek:

    Anybody else getting this? The internet connection seems fine because I can still download trailers & see rentals. Is this possibly because the Apple servers are getting hit hard for updates right now?
     
  2. macrumors member

    RNSheets

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    #2
    it could be.

    I updated my TV earlier this evening and had no probs.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    934
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #3
    Similarly, I can't buy a TV show through my Apple TV after installing the new 2.1 software. It says to try again later because it can't access the iTunes store.

    Anyone else getting this? :confused:


    update: my issue is that you have to click AGREE to the new terms and conditions on the computer iTunes, then you can purchase again on Apple TV. Quirky bug!
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    #4
    can't check right now

    I've tried four days in a row to download the 2.1 update on my AppleTV, but I keep getting the "can't check right now" message. Did you ever figure this out?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    670
    #5
    is your ATV patched?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    260
    #6
    UPDATE:

    Yes, it was because my AppleTV was patched. It seems that if you patch, it disables updating so your hacks don't get broken. I did a factory restore and everything is working fine now.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    670
    #7
    That is the point. Usually the update server address is changed. You can either undo the changes in the "hosts" file or just do a factory restore.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    #8
    ATV patch preventing software update

    Aha! I wondered if that was it! I do love the additional functionality that the patch brings, though. Does the patching still work if reapplied after the 2.1 update? Thanks very much.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    670
    #9
    ssh still works, other plugins need to be updated/ adjusted.
    PM me for more info.
     

Share This Page