Apps are using too much storage on iPad and no way to delete App cache

Discussion in 'iPad' started by hasanahmad, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. hasanahmad
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #1
    What is this, apps are using too much data and there is no way to delete the data or the cache

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. r-sparks
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    r-sparks

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Two suggestions:

    - see if you can clear the app's cache using iTunes

    - if not, delete the app and then reinstall it using the App Store.
     
  3. dogthateats
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    #3
    I noticed the AP Mobile app doing this also. I barely ever use the app and it continues to use more and more storage. I think it is something the developer can address in an update because I used to have a similar problem with the instagram app on my iphone.
     
  4. Rcarron
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #4
    I have the same problem. Did you ever find out how to fix it?
     
  5. paulbennett95
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    paulbennett95

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #5
    Delete and reinstall the app, but it'll just regain the cache over time, its there for a reason.
     
  6. Jetson
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Jetson

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    #6
    On another thread, we had members saying that no one needs more storage capacity than Apple provides!

    :rolleyes:

    Then Apple FINALLY releases a 128GB iPad.

    In my opinion that's a great start but still not enough - especially for the prices they charge.
     
  7. Rodster
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #7
    Tunein and iHeart Radio both do this to me although nothing like 150+ MB. And it's definitely an iOS Apps issue because if I use Tunein or iHeart on my Android devices the cache is stuck at roughly 500K and the app never grows in size.
     
  8. AnorexicPig
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    AnorexicPig

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location:
    Winnipeg,Canada/New Delhi India
    #8
    If anyone uses the fb app--just take a look at how much space it hogs up--it went to 300mb docs and data :eek::mad:
     
  9. charlituna
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Have you tried turning off the iPad. Or doing a hard reset. Could force clear the caches.
     

Share This Page