Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sammyvine

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 12, 2012
Apologies if already posted
I have finally decided what Mac to get so i wondering what apps or software you would recommend to download in order to help your laptop.

I am completely new to Mac so have no idea what to download. I am seeing software like Glimmreblock and Clamxav on this board?

should i download those and if not what software do i need?

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
;)

erm do i need glimmblocker and caffine?

i want to use my mac for doing essays, music, movies and browsing really.
Glimmerblocker works well in blocking ads on websites. Caffeine is useful for overriding your Energy Saver settings to keep your Mac awake with a simple click on the Menu Bar icon. I use and recommend both apps.

Orlandoech

macrumors 68040
Jun 2, 2011
Some of my favorite apps I cannot live without

• Menutunes - iTunes Notification & Menubar controller
  • DayOne - Journal
  • Trillian - Messenger
  • AppCleaner - App Uninstaller
  • CopyPath - CopyPath Tool
  • Growl - Notification system
  • TextWrangler - Powerful free text editor
  • TheUnarchiver - Archiver/Unzipper Utility
  • Perian - quicktime plugins/codecs
  • Flip4Mac - plugin - watch wmv's through quicktime
  • CarbonCopyCloner - powerful backup utility
  • SnapNDrag - screenshot utility
  • Transmission - torrent
  • Write2 - Lightweight text editor
  • BetterTouchTool - Trackpad/mouse gesture tool
  • Paragon NTFSforMac - Read/Write to NTFS Paritions
  • BatchImageResizer - Resize Images in Batch to various formats
  • Toast Titanium - burning software
  • Burn - free powerful burning software
  • Handbrake - ripping software

Last edited:

Badrottie

Suspended
May 8, 2011
Los Angeles
Not too many apps…ML have everything I am looking for except for apps for deaf/hearing impaired.

Twitter
CCleaner
AppZapper
Adobe CS5