ATV2 Interface Resolution Quality Issues

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by whiskeyred, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #1
    Pretty disappointed with the interface of the ATV2. I mean it looks like crap, thumbnails of movies, itunes etc. All low-res and barely SD quality. I have it all connected via HDMI, comparing the UI's of other devices, such as the Blu-Ray players, ROKU, etc - it's a joke.

    Anyone else see what I see crappy resolution not so much in what I'm watching but the UI itself.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #2
    Mine looks fine - are you sure it is set to 720p?

    As for navigating it, i prefer Apple remote on the iPad.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #3
    I believe so, under settings video & audio HDMI is set to auto
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #4
    But what does it say under settings-> Audio & Video-> TV Resolution? Actually go into the setting as well, don't take the fact it says Auto - it will tell you what resolution is currently being used when you go in.
    My menus look crisp and sharp at 720p
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #5
    I will, I remember the options being Y------. then RGB High, then RGB low but I did not see any actual 720p or 480p settings, unless I am in the wrong place.
     
  6. DLH
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #6
    Check in Settings - General - About - TV Resolution
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #8
    These are 2 seperate options in the Audio & Video settings, one for HDMI (RGB, etc) and one for TV Resolution. The 2nd one is where you will find the actual resolution options (720p, etc)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #9
    So the culprit for me was my receiver, ATV2 directly into the TV resolved the quality issue, now it looks crisp and clean. Thanks again everyone.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #10
    Good to know, which model TV was it connected to?
     
  11. whiskeyred, Jan 4, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012

    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #11
    I have a Pioneer Plasma, 50" it was the Harmon Kardon receiver it was not playing nice with.
     

Share This Page