Audio CD not mounting.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DeSnousa, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. DeSnousa macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #1
    I've have about 3 albums in my collection now and when I insert the CD it will not mount anywhere, ie. iTunes, Finder, etc.

    This is really annoying, surely there is something I can do to make the CD mount?

    I also don't know if its copy protected, but the CD is a straight audio CD, there's no enhanced media like Quicktime movies which can prove annoying sometimes.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    It immediately sounds like a DRM problem. What's the CD called? Do you know if it mounts on PCs? :)
     
  3. DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #3
    Yeah I was thinking of going to try it on a PC, but will not get the chance until next week.

    The cd's are:

    Linkin Park: Live in Texas

    Craig David: Slicker Than Your Average

    Hits Of The Beach Boys
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I have this and mine mounts (and rips fine). I have the UK (or at least EU) release. Maybe that's the difference?
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    I read something on the Apple Support forums about inserting the CD whilst holding down SHIFT but it wasn't successful in that case. Still, it may be worth a try... :)
     
  6. DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #6
    Yeah did not work, thanks for the giving it a shot though :)

    It's really annoying to not have music you purchased, able to mount.
     
  7. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Is that not to stop autorun on Windows from installing a DRM driver?
     
  8. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #8
    Bare with me: Have you tried a simple solution like a restart?

    I've sometimes had problems with CDs not mounting, and a simple reboot (sometimes after repairing permissions) has always helped. Not sure if this applies here, since it's only three CDs that won't cooperate, but felt it worth mentioning... :eek:
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9

    Not sure. It was given as advice to a Mac user with the same problem as DeSnousa.

    This is frustrating. I can't find anything that could help. Try Mitthrawnuruodo's suggestion, and maybe make sure the disks are clean too (but they probably will be).
     
  10. DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #10
    Yep repaired permissions and restarted computer with little success.

    If any one has an idea even the slightest please post.

    Thanks for your help so far :)
     
  11. DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #11
    Yay i finally got a disk to mount, i opened up disk utility and then stuck in the disk. However with that said its taking for ages to import. Its been about 10 minutes and iTunes is till importing the first song. Its going at a rate of about 0.5x and then will stop constantly.

    You should hear the CD drive, its crazy at the moment.

    Edit: Looks like iTunes has frozen to a stand still.

    Edit 2: After fore quit of iTunes, i ejected disk. Now when i insert disk it will not show up again, even through disk utility.
     
  12. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #12
    What Mac do you have? It sounds like you have a PowerMac 7100 with a 2x CD-rom drive to have such slow import issues. Seriously, it sounds like you have some hardware issues. Any normal operating Mac will mount virtually all CDs without any trouble. What OS are you running? (I know it is some form of OS X because you mentioned Disk Utility) Memory? Please give all computer details and your history with the Mac platform. What version of iTunes? Are you having other performance issues? Do other types of discs mount in that drive?

    EDIT: I looked at your profile and see that you have a 1.2 Ghz 12" Powerbook. Again, check a regular data CD. Mounts normal? If so, do a hardware check with a hardware check CD (if you have one). If not, I think you need to take this to a repair facility (or replace the CD drive yourself).

    http://www.smalldog.com/PHPbb/viewtopic.php?t=2210&
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=145051
    http://forums.macnn.com/archive/index.php/t-249801.html
     
  13. DeSnousa thread starter macrumors 68000

    DeSnousa

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #13
    Thanks spinne1 for your help. I found the problems as listed.

    -One of the CD's was burnt with 3 images, which is odd and why it imported slowly.

    -The other 2 CD's are DRM protected I guess.

    I don't think its a hardware issue as I bought 4 new albums today, which worked and imported at 8-11x.

    Im going to look into the other CD's when im out my mates place next week, to see if it is DRM protected.
     

Share This Page