Auto-correct in Lion but no double space to period?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by iBreatheApple, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Am I missing an option? It's not something that I've always dreamed of but now that Lion has auto-correct I'd really like to try double spacing for a period to see how I like it. Anyone know why we can't do this/ if it's possible?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #2
    Why would you want to do this? It's only in iOS because the period is on a separate "page" of the keyboard, meaning it takes more inputs to get to the period. On a keyboard, you have a period. It'll develop bad typing skills to get used to double spacing for a period. I'm not aware of a way to modify the system-wide autocorrect.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    I guess so. I never really realized how inane it is to want this feature until reading your post. Still, it'd be fun to try.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    DJBBOX

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  5. macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #5
    Isn't that what a lot of technology is for?

    Ex. Dishwasher, laundry machines, coffee maker ...

    Personally, I think double tapping the space bar is just a different way to enter a period. It's not like it removes the period making a sentence harder to read. I even think it's more ergonomic.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #6
    Go into preferences -> Language & Text

    then under the "Use symbol and text substitution" add a new rule

    Put two spaces to be translated into a period and a space then you have what you want :)

    it doesn't actually display the period until you type something else, but it does the job.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    That will work until the OP has to put more than one space in anything while typing. ;)
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #8
    It doesn't seem to work everywhere either. It doesn't work while typing this. It works in the url bar though. odd
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #9
    It's something of like to see as well. I have went and double spaced a lot since using my iPad, iPhone more and more.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68020

    iBreatheApple

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    I agree!

    Wow, thanks!

    No different than an iPhone.

    Your username makes me cry.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    #11
    It can be done

    It can be done, though this workaround doesn't function exactly the same as on an iOS device.

    - In "System Preferences" find "Language & Text" and select "Text"

    - Add a new rule where " " (double space) is replaced with ". " (period space).

    -Enable "Symbol and Text Substitution"

    -Check this new rule

    *it works most places, but not everywhere, you need to start typing again for the period to show up in some cases.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    How can I get this to work in Mavericks?

    I try this and get ...

    In Keyboard preferences > Text Tab :confused:

     

Share This Page