banner doesnt load

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Acorn, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #1
    The top banner doesnt load for me and causing the site to endlessly load. IT hasnt work for me for quite awhile. this is using the newest firefox version.
     
  2. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
  3. macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #3
    Same problem here (Firefox 16.0.1) except that I just now noticed that I'm not seeing any ads whatsoever, not just the top banner. That's cool and all, I suppose, but whatever's going on is making all pages load really slowly for me.

    Also, for what its worth, I'm using a Windows XP desktop (at work).

    For comparison purposes, I launched the site using IE 8 and, while I still don't see any ads, it loaded much faster (damn it!).

    To rule out the possibility that it was my company's network settings that were blocking the ads, I launched the site from my iPhone on cellular (turned Wi-Fi off) and I could see the ads on the mobile site but they disappear when I switch to the full site.

    Oh, and I don't have Chrome or Safari on this machine so I can't test either of those.
     
  4. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #4
    I opened Firefox 16.0.1 on Windows 7 and I saw the ads once. Then I saw it hang on a couple of sites.

    • dis.criteo.com
    • bh.contextweb.com
    • c.localhost.com
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #5
    Wow. All of a sudden, just mere seconds ago, the hangups stopped (I was seeing the same ones as you) and now pages are loading really quickly.
     
  6. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #6
    I'm still seeing c.betrad.com hang right now.
     
  7. r2shyyou, Oct 18, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2012

    macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #7
    Though I'm no longer seeing any hangups, I'm still not seeing ads, which I assume is an issue (I'm guessing that's MR's main source of revenue).
     
  8. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #8
    The ads are showing up for me. Arn will see this thread if he hasn't already and take care of the issues. :)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #9
    im still having issues where nothing shows in the banner. its not that big a deal since i hate ads anyway but i imagine its some kind of revenue for macrumors.
     

Share This Page