Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

deep diver

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Jan 17, 2008
Philadelphia.
Hi All.
Mrs. Diver wants to start learning to do her own photo processing.
She has an iMac with an M1 chip. We are looking for something basic and easy to use "out of the box." (Think Photoshop Elements.) I am already familiar with the more advanced options.
What suggestions do you have?
Thanks.

JonnyMacx86

macrumors regular
Staff member
Feb 10, 2024
Halifax, NS
Once I graduated from the editing tools available in Apple Photos, I get Pixelmator Pro from the App Store. It's like Photoshop but easier for me to wrap my head around, and a one-time purchase. There's now a sister app called Photomator which is probably more in line with your partner's use case. It is available both as a subscription and as a one-time purchase. Both of these apps integrate into Apple Photos as plug-ins, as well - super easy to go from Photos into one of these and back.

Reactions: deep diver

BotchQue

macrumors 6502
Dec 22, 2019
Another vote for Apple Photos, and she already has it (I use Affinity Photo for more advanced stuff, a one-time purchase and they've been good with the updates).

Apple fanboy

macrumors Ivy Bridge
Feb 21, 2012
Behind the Lens, UK
Hi All.
Mrs. Diver wants to start learning to do her own photo processing.
She has an iMac with an M1 chip. We are looking for something basic and easy to use "out of the box." (Think Photoshop Elements.) I am already familiar with the more advanced options.
What suggestions do you have?
Thanks.
When I was teaching Mrs AFB to do some photo editing (because she didn’t like the way I was editing the images of her craft projects!), I taught her to use simple processing in LR. I taught her with a Loupedeck to make it easier.

Darmok N Jalad

macrumors 603
Sep 26, 2017
Tanagra (not really)