Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

feanorkinslayer

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 19, 2012
London
Hi there, this is my first post here although I have lurked here for a while. I also apologise for asking something that probably has dome before.

My background is a physics masters and I am familiar with Fortran 95 and extensively used Matlab (well gnu Octave) on my 10 month placement. I am looking to learn c++ for when I start my PhD as I'll need to do a lot of data analysis and it seems it's the language others in the group use.

My question is, what do I need to get going with c++ on a mac. I have Xcode as I got it by mistake over a year ago, but do I need anything else to begin my "hello world" program? Are there any useful websites or books?

Thanks in advance.

foijord

macrumors newbie
Jul 18, 2012
Norway
I am looking to learn c++ for when I start my PhD as I'll need to do a lot of data analysis and it seems it's the language others in the group use.

C++ is probably the wrong language to use, no matter what you're doing. I'm assuming you're not doing any GUI, in which case you would use Objective-C.

If you're creating small programs to churn through some data, you should probably just use Python. Many (most?) scientist type of guys do. I know, Python is very slow for stuff like this, but that doesn't matter because it's so much faster to get the job done in. If you create a Python script and you find it's running too slow, you can port the offending part of the code to C and easily call it from your script.

In C++, it may take you 10 hours to write some code that executes in 10 minutes, while in Python, it might take you 10 minutes to write equivalent code that executes in 10 hours. Which do you prefer?

subsonix

macrumors 68040
Feb 2, 2008