Best and cheapest way to attach apple tv to non hdmi tv?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by KTK1990, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #1
    I have an old (5 year old?) Mitsubishi tv, with component and composite cables ( red white yellow and, r/w/y/r/b/g). It doesn't have anything else really, no dvi or VGA, but it does have an svideo port.

    I am highly interested in getting an apple tv, but am not sure how to connect it and get it to play with my tv. The audio part I have figured out, I can connect the optical audio to my non hdmi Bose lifestyle surround sound system.

    I do also have a time Warner cable box, but I am not entirely sure if it has hdmi or not, it's a scientific atlanta box. ( I think 8300HD model)
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #2
  3. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #3
    You need a converter. Either google it, or go to your local audio/video store.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    For what it's worth use the money you'd spend on a converter and put it towards a new HDTV.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    potatis

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    #5
    or buy an AppleTV G1, it connects to component, and can be hacked for AirPlay.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #6
    Thanks everyone. I might look into the gen 1 apple tv, does the airplay work well for iPad and Mac mirroring?
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #8
    Might be pretty hard. Can't find a good 60+ inch HDTV for about $100 ;). Don't have the cash to buy an entirely new tv. But I can find up some for a cheap apple tv
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #9
    Go with the new ATV and converter box. No sense investing in old ATV1 technology.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    +1 to this, AppleTV3 ($99) + Converter box ($30) = :D
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    doktordoris

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #11
    WHat he said.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #12
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    TN USA
    #13
    Pardon the interruption, but what if you have an hd tv, just no HDMI input...which method is best? HDMI to dvi, rgb, or svideo?
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    potatis

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    #14
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    #15
    you will most likely need a converter. hdmi carries both the video and audio signal and most computers cannot transmit audio via DVI (some ATI gpu's can)
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #16
    Mitsubishi 65813 and 3rd generation ATV (3/7/12)

    I have a Mitsubishi 65813 CRT TV that only does 1081i, 480P, 480i no 1080P.
    The Mitsubishi TV has DVI, and Component video inputs (and other lower resolution inputs).

    Connecting my AppleTV 3rd generation (March 7, 2012):

    1. ATV (HDMI) to Denon AVR 1912 (HDMI)
    2. Denon AVR 1912 (HDMI) to Mits 65813 (DVI)

    I know this works because I bought a ATV 2nd generation about 3 weeks ago (returned it after learning about the ATV refresh) and it worked. Only problem was some of the screen was cut off on the top (very minor).

    Any comments?
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #17
    DVI to RGB cable... connect to rgb input of Mits.(it will ignore the audio signal) Have to find the right video resolution setting for the connection.

    Monoprice digital to analogue rca converter. Works great and cheap.

    I've got about a 5 year old Fujutsu 1080 monitor and use this configuration with aTV 2. I upgraded software this afternoon and all is well. I had to change the audio setting to lock in at 16bit vs auto though.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    TN USA
    #18
    I was planing to use an existing optical audio cable for audio from atv to home theatre tuner...would I still need a converter to run HDMI to dvi for video only?

    Thanks!
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #19
  20. potatis, Mar 8, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    potatis

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    #20
  21. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #21
  22. Primejimbo, Mar 8, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012

    macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #22
    Seeing HDMI is digital and component is analog.. this will not work..

    ^^^what he said
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    potatis

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    #23

    Yes, there are seperate red/white RCA outputs on the component side, so you get analogue audio out. If you want digital you could get it directly from the AppleTV's optical connector.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    #24

    How did you get the optical audio to work through the Denon? Did you have to assign the optical audio to match the HDMI to DVI out to the TV?
     

Share This Page