Binding to a certain port

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by fuzeman, Jun 16, 2008.

1. fuzeman macrumors newbie

Jun 3, 2008
    I have a script that binds to a random port for use with a Server and Client but I really need to have The Server And Client always run for example on port 5156 just a Example I dont want the Client to Bring up Other services on other Ports just port 5156 for example how will i be able to do that this is the Code i guess you must change stuff in this code cause it has Binding and Socket etc
    Thanks Alot By the way im new to xcode so im just learning :D

- (IBAction)toggleSharing:(id)sender {
        uint16_t chosenPort;
        if(!listeningSocket) {
            // Here, create the socket from traditional BSD socket calls, and then set up an NSFileHandle with
            //that to listen for incoming connections.
            int fdForListening;
            struct sockaddr_in serverAddress;
            int namelen = sizeof(serverAddress);
            // In order to use NSFileHandle's acceptConnectionInBackgroundAndNotify method, we need to create a
            // file descriptor that is itself a socket, bind that socket, and then set it up for listening. At this
            // point, it's ready to be handed off to acceptConnectionInBackgroundAndNotify.
            if((fdForListening = socket(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, 0)) > 0) {
                memset(&serverAddress, 0, sizeof(serverAddress));
                serverAddress.sin_family = AF_INET;
                serverAddress.sin_addr.s_addr = htonl(INADDR_ANY);
                serverAddress.sin_port = 0;
                // Allow the kernel to choose a random port number by passing in 0 for the port.
                if (bind(fdForListening, (struct sockaddr *)&serverAddress, namelen) < 0) {
                    close (fdForListening);
                // Find out what port number was chosen.