Bit Torrent in panther

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by saabmp3, Oct 25, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #1
    Is anybody else having a problem with bit torrent crashing immediatly with panther. It used to work decently for me under jag but just doesn't seem to like the new OS. In the crash log I'm getting a Kernel protection error.

    Thanks,

    BEN
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #2
    Re: Bit Torrent in panther

    may not be the best place to be asking this question,

    Bit torrent supports warez and thats not supported here
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    There is a new client for Panther, v3.3, I've seen it floating about on IRC, don't know if it's officially available yet though.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #4
    Ummm, lets see, FTP supports warez too but I don't see that being a problem here.

    On the other note, I'm using 3.3 (I THINK), I installed 3.2 then tried to put 3.3 on but I don't think I did it completely. I'll have to work on it some more.

    Thanks,

    BEN
     
  5. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #5
    its funny how when someone asks a question the only warez talk comes from the people who say you might not want to talk about it. bittorrent only supports warez when you use it that way, and in that case everything can be used for warez if you think hard enough. anyways, i have been using the new 3.3 version on panther for some time now and has been working great, go download it from versiontracker.com

    iJon
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #6
    i've been told... LOL

    back to the question

    There is a working version on the bit torrent website, claims to be unofficial... i have yet to try it - no 10.3 to run it on
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #7
    Hmm, well I know for sure I'm using the 3.3 release but it's still crashing. This is sorta frustrating for the fact that I have nothing better to do but let this fester right now :(.

    Oh well, I'm sure it'll work itself out, things usually do that on the mac :p

    BEN

    PS. Point noted Wes, I won't say nothin about servers except for the best one out there! 127.0.0.1 YEAH!
     
  8. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Remember, here on MR, chat about file-sharing is allowed as long as the chat stays general, IE: Programs, protocols etc, and is only prohibited about specifics, servers, certain files etc.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    amin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Bittorrent 3.2.2a works well in Panther. What's better about 3.3?
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    England
  11. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #11
    Hey i tried that one...no files, it just took me to my own computer... what gives

    LOL .... HAHAHAHAHAHA :D :D
     
  12. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #12
    well a lot of internal things just for improvment. the best feature is that it only scans the torrent until it detects what you downloaded. before if would scan all 100 percent, and then decide how much you downloaded. also before if you downloaded a file, lets sayd 500mb, it would make a 500mb file on your hard disk, even if you hae only download like 5mb of it. now the space adds up as you download it, like any normal file. go to bittorrents home page to read more on the new changes.

    iJon
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    sphereboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Location:
    MIAMI.FL.USA
    #13
    A computer can be used for warez.. so we should not talk about it.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #14
    install the developer tools and it should start working for you. either that or use 3.2.2 instead.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    AZ
    #15
    3.3

    the official 3.3 does not work on Panther

    However, there is an unofficial 3.3 that works in Panther just fine, it is on most of the torrent sites.
     
  16. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #16
    Re: 3.3

    i have been using the 3.3 version that was posted on versiontracker a couple of days ago in panther just fine. i would assume the version posted on versiontracker would be the official, and says nothing about being unofficial.

    iJon
     
  17. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #17
    I have official 3.3, but don't have Panther to test it on :(

    I emailed my local reseller on Thursday about getting a student copy of Panther and they haven't replied yet :mad:
     
  18. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #18
    resellers dont seel education apple software, unless its a campus book store of some sort.

    iJon
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #19
    Re: Re: Bit Torrent in panther

    BitTorrent is also used to distribute trailers and independent films to relieve stress from servers (Fanimatrix, for example). I think it is unfair to automatically assume that the only reason for using BT is to break the law.

    I loaded BT without loading a download and had no problem. v 3.2.2
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Elan0204

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #20
    Version 3.3 crashes for me once I try and begin downloading something. I went and found version 3.2.2a and it works.
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #21
    Re: Re: Re: Bit Torrent in panther

    i already said "i've been told" isn't that enough... common i get it -

    i was wrong, burn me at the steak
     
  22. macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #22
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Bit Torrent in panther

    It's stake.

    (just kidding ;) sorry thought it'd be funny)

    Anyway, some on VersionTracker are having the same problems, but some aren't. Try deleting your old prefs and reinstalling.
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #23
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Bit Torrent in panther

    it was
     
  24. macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #24
    i'm having the same problem.

    i've installed Dev Tools, and version 3.3 still won't work, quite as soon as you start to DL. i tried to get 3.2.2, but it was still v3.3 when i started the app?:confused: does anyone know where i can get v3.2.2?

    i've also tried and unofficial version, from http://bitconjurer.org/BitTorrent but it doesn't seem to be working. it doesn't crash, but it just sits there and has the progress bar as if it's still loading. is this the unofficial version that people are talking about, or is there another one? if so could someone please post a link?

    i've also tried using eetee, from VersionTracker. it works, but it's damned slow, and i just end up uploading more than i DL. it constantly UL's at 10KB/s and i only DL at 2, 5KB/s if i'm lucky. does anyone know how to fix this? or is this how BitTorrent works?

    has anyone who previously couldn't get BT to work have it working now? i'm getting *slightly* annoyed with it now, and i'm sure i'm not alone...
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    eclipse525

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    USA, New York
    #25
    Any word on whether they have an update for DC yet? Has anyone been experiencing problems with DC lately?


    ~e
     

Share This Page