Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VanTastic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 22, 2013
France
Hi,

I own an early 2011 13" Macbook Pro and I decided that I wanted to give it a little boost by adding some RAM to it as well as an SSD. The thing is I'm not an expert so I don't know what are the best brands out there. For the RAM I think I want to upgrade it to 8 GB but I'm still a bit indecisive when it comes to the SSD capacity: if there is a simple way to still keep my original HD with the SSD (and remove the superdrive which I have no use for) then 128 GB would do fine otherwise 256GB. Now having said that, I have read the sticky regarding the SSDs and those SATA (no idea what that is) issues seem pretty scary since I own a 2011 MBP, but given the age of the thread, has this been fixed by now ? And if so what are the best quality/price SSD models out there ?

Secondly, I would also like to buy a wireless Keyboard/Mouse for my MBP because I connect it a lot to my TV. I think I'm gonna go for the Apple keyboard and since I'm not a fan of the Magic Mouse, I don't know what mouse to buy, I own a Microsoft mouse that I bought for €5 but the scroll wheel is not as smooth as the trackpad, so what I'm looking for a mouse is to be wireless, smooth scrolling and comfortable (I only play Minecraft and Football Manager on my machine).

Thanks in advance for any help!

strwrsfrk

macrumors regular
Mar 1, 2011
Arlington, VA, USA
The thing is I'm not an expert so I don't know what are the best brands out there. For the RAM I think I want to upgrade it to 8 GB

I'm a fan of G.Skill for RAM; I've never had a compatibility issues with G.Skill and an Apple computer (so far a 2007 MacBook, several MacBook Pros, and a Mac Pro). Here is a set of 8GB (2x4GB) for $43: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231295