Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kenen

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 3, 2023
Here I am, looking to purchase my first Mac in years (I've been on the PC side of things), and I'm undecided between getting a Mac Mini with the M2 Pro chip or waiting to see if the M3 models are released soon.

I work as a designer and editor, primarily using the Affinity Suite, and I also produce podcasts with Reaper as my main tool. Right now, I'm leaning towards buying the Mac Mini M2 Pro with 16GB RAM and a 512GB SSD as soon as tomorrow 🤣, but I'd like to hear your thoughts on this, guys.

Reactions: richmlow

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Here I am, looking to purchase my first Mac in years (I've been on the PC side of things), and I'm undecided between getting a Mac Mini with the M2 Pro chip or waiting to see if the M3 models are released soon.

I work as a designer and editor, primarily using the Affinity Suite, and I also produce podcasts with Reaper as my main tool. Right now, I'm leaning towards buying the Mac Mini M2 Pro with 16GB RAM and a 512GB SSD as soon as tomorrow 🤣, but I'd like to hear your thoughts on this, guys.
The M3-Pro is only a slight upgrade from the M2-Pro. The M3 has some downgrades and some upgrades and the net effect is only about 6% better than M2.

That said, look at the prices. My bet is the the M2-pro will be discounted by many sellers after the M3-pro comes out. But I suspect not before. I bought a Mac Mini M2-pro with same specs (16GB 512GB) but with also the 10GB Ethernet added so as to get faster access to my Synology NAS. It has very good performance for the tasks you will be doing.

No. I'm not saying which to get. Either would work for you

Reactions: kenen

kenen

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 3, 2023