Can 4th gen iPods not be used to boot into OSX?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Fredstar, Apr 11, 2005.

  1. Fredstar macrumors 6502a

    Fredstar

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Near London
    #1
    I was going to install Tiger on my iPod and boot off that but all i get is a red exclamation mark and that OSX can't boot off this device or something.
    After reading a Engadget artical about installing Tiger on a 3rd Gen 30gb iPod, i guess they have recently disabled that capability in the 4th generation iPods.
    I understand fully the side effects of using the iPod and overheating it but i was only planning on using it for max an hour a time - if that.
     
  2. TMA macrumors 6502a

    TMA

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Not sure about 4th Gen iPods but I've successfully booted Panther (10.3) off my 1st Gen iPod Mini.

    You could try reformatting the iPod as a normal HD using disk utility first... Might make a difference.
     
  3. Fredstar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fredstar

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Near London
    #3
    hmm i tried erasing and partitioning the iPod but it still didn't work.
    another quick question - when installing Tiger on a seperate Hard drive i guess i should firstly install the original iMac discs so it has the correct firmware and Panther? And then a complete erase and install?
     
  4. kewpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    #5
    Are you plugging the iPod in via Firewire or USB?

    Macs can only boot off Firewire drives i think.
     
  5. Fredstar thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Fredstar

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Near London
    #6
    I am using Firewire, i think the only way to boot off an iPod is to use Carbon copy (whatever it is called) and copy over a complete OS and boot from that.
    I know you can boot off an iPod and it is a 'feature' as such, just that the Tiger/Panther install won't actually allow me to install it straight onto it.
     
  6. earthtoandy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    #7
    well remember panther has to be installed on the first 8gig or so of a drive.... so that may be the problem. According to apple it is possible but unsupported
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    That was a problem with older systems, but I think it's not an issue anymore.
     
  8. earthtoandy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    #9
    ahhh right...still a thought.

    another thought... is your panther install one that came with a system? Cause those usually wont work on anything but the type of system it came with.
    [edit] I just installed panther on my 4th gen ipod and it worked no prob [/edit]
     

Share This Page