Can a G4 run OS X?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by JimmyDreams, Oct 1, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #1
    A friend has a G4, can that laptop run OS X 10.whatever??? I know nothing about the Apple laptops...does OS X require an Intel based chip? (I assume a g$ is NOT Intel based.)

    Suggestions? Thx!!
     
  2. macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #2
    No, OS X will run perfectly fine on a G4 – you don't need an Intel processor. It will benefit from having a decent amount of RAM in there, though.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    deputy_doofy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    #3
    My PB 12" 1GHz G4 runs 10.3.9 just fine. A G4 will also run 10.4.x as well.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    Of course it can. I would recommend getting at least 512MBs of RAM though and optimally 1GB.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    About half of all G4s shipped with OS X as their starting OS.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    xsedrinam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #6
    Agreed on the RAM advice. Mine's run nothing but Panther and Tiger (10.3 and 10.4)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #7
    Thanks for the quick replies, folks. I'll have them check the RAM and then stuff OS X in it and see if we can't make it smoke!!!:eek:
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    shu82

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Rocket City, AL
    #8
    You can run tiger in almost everything built since 2000. If its just OSX you want , you could run that on a 233mhz beige powermac G3 from 1997 (Up to 10.2). How well depends on you.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    My first Mac was a G4 iBook running Tiger.

    Absolutely no problems .. :)
     
  10. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    Dear Father Jack.... you have come a long way! :cool:
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    Onwards and upwards my son .. :)


    p.s. I ike your instructions for PC users .. :cool:
    FJ
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #12
    G4 came out in 1999, and OS X 10.0 came out in 2001.

    not only can a G4 run OS X, so can a G3, which were sold in iBooks until 2003/4ish.
     
  13. macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #13
    Many G3s can run OS X fine, but some earlier models of G3 aren't supported in later versions of OS X – for example, the beige G3 Power Macs aren't supported by Panther.

    It's worth noting too that Leopard looks to be dropping support for the G3 altogether, the G4 is listed as the minimum processor in the system requirements.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    shu82

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Rocket City, AL
    #14
    Even that, G4s are limited to 866mhz. So 800mhz g4s and lower are SOL
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #15
    Yes.
     

Share This Page