Can I get windows on my mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by alliesand, Dec 11, 2006.

  1. alliesand macrumors newbie

    alliesand

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #1
    I dont know if my mac is intel based. Please help me out! I have an iBook G4, with OS X 10.4.8, 1.42 Ghz PowerPC G4 processor. Please help me!
     
  2. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #2
    Yes you do.

    You're going to have to use Virtual PC if you want to run Windows on that thing.

    -Ani
     
  3. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #4
    I'm afraid not – the G4 is a PowerPC processor, not an Intel one.

    You could try something like Virtual PC if you're desperate to run Windows, but it won't run anywhere near as fast as Boot Camp on an Intel Mac.
     
  4. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #5
    if it is a g3, g4 or a g5, it is powerpc based and you cannot run windows without hassle (you need virtual pc which is painfully slow)
     
  5. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    In fact, if it was any Mac released before January 2006, it didn't have Intel Inside.

    The iBook G4's were replaced with the MacBook's which have Intel Core Duo processors.

    Unless you're going to be doing the most rudimentary stuff, VirtualPC will probably be too slow for you.
     

Share This Page