Can I run Parallels?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Grampa Joe, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    #1
    I have a iMac G5, Rev. A, PowerMac8.1, PowerPC G5 (3.0), no iSight.,
    S/Number W84511...

    I see that Parallels requires the Intel core duo. Does this mean I won't be able to install Parallels?

    When/if I upgrade to Leopard, will it work on my iMac?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    Sorry, Parallels requires Intel processors. The OS has nothing to do with it...

    You can however run Virtual PC if you want to run Windows on your Power Mac. It's not as fast as Parallels, but it should enable you to run pretty much anything that runs under Parallels...
     
  3. macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #3
    Unfortunately (or is that fortunately?) you will never be able to run Parallels on a G5. The G5 is a Power PC processor and Windows can not run on it, it can only run on the Intel based Macs. The only way of running Windows on a Power PC Mac is through an emulation like Virtual PC, which runs incredibly slowly and is extremely limited in what it can do.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for the info. I think I'll wait for the "new" Mac Mini to be introduced and buy one. I have a MBP, but don't want to mess it up by installing Parallels.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    MI, USA
    #5
    Um, Parallels won't mess up anything... Now, if you install Windows in Parallels, you can trash your Windows VM, but it won't hurt OS X at all, just delete the three files in the Parallels folder, and re-install Windows, it's just a virtual machine...
     

Share This Page