Can I upgrade iBook G4 (933 Mhz) RAM to 1gb?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by pcfast, Apr 24, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #1
    I have an iBook G4 (933 Mhz) and I was looking to see what RAM sticks I could buy to upgrade the from the 256MB it currently has. It looks like Crucial doesn't "officially" sell any RAM that will fit my iBook G4.

    What I'd like to do is upgrade to 1GB of RAM. According to EveryMac it seems people have upgraded to 1GB on these iBook models.

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/ibook/specs/ibook_g4_933_14.html

    I was wondering if anyone has put in a 1gb RAM module with a iBook g4 (933 Mhz) with success? If so, please let me know.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #2
    Of course you can. I think I even have a chip of PC2100 ram, though I think it is only 512mb. I think you have 256mb built in or maybe only 128mb built in.
     
  3. justperry, Apr 24, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013

    macrumors 603

    justperry

    #3
    Screenshot, I don't really understand the 1.12 GB though!

    Edit: Keep in mind that it will cost you probably half of what your iBook is worth, that is for new RAM, you might find it second hand on Ebay.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #4
    What it means is his iBook has 128mb built onto the logic board.

    I've got a 512mb PC2100 chip I'll sell for cheap, let me know, OP, that will bump you up to 640mb ram.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #5
    Oh, wow, didn't know there where Apple Laptops which had this.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #6
    All the G4 and I think G3 iBooks had ram built in, except maybe the clamshell g3s.

    The final G4 iBooks had 512mb ram built in.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #7
    If this is the case then why didn't both my Pismo and PB G4 1.67 don't show more memory in the RAM section of System profiler?
    The Pismo had a 128 MB and a 256 MB RAM module and the G$ has a 1 GB stick, the G3 Pismo said it had 384 MB which is what was installed, and the G4 says 1 GB, not 1.something.
     
  8. 666sheep, Apr 25, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2013

    macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    ^^^All iBooks G3 and G4 have onboard RAM chip, Clamshells too (different sizes, depending on model). Of PowerBooks only 12" was equipped with it.

    And to the OP: if it won't be possible, everymac and other sources won't state that. And I wouldn't advice you to buy 1GB stick in your other thread ;)
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #9
    Uh, Pismo is a Powerbook G3, not an iBook G3.

    The Powerbook G4 is a Powerbook G4 NOT an iBook G4.

    The only Powerbook that had onboard ram was the 12" Powerbook G4. I don't know about the older Lombards, and AFAIK, my ancient 145b Powerbook did not have onboard ram.

    The first two PB 12" G4s -- 867mhz and 1ghz had 128mb onboard ram.

    The next two, the 1.33 and the 1.5ghz had 256mb onboard ram.

    There is a big difference between "iBook" and "Powerbook".
     
  10. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #10
    Yeah, see it now, must have read over it, sorry about that.:eek:

    Then explain to me why Mactracker says 1.12 GB, I am not saying you are wrong, I just think it's kinda odd.

    EveryMac says:

     
  11. macrumors 6502

    skateny

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #11
    You can certainly add 1GB. I did so with my iBook from a trusted eBay seller that deals almost exclusively with Macs. (Not me or anyone I know.)

    I paid $21.99, shipping included.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #12
    Everymac switched its numbers around. It is precisely 1.128gbs. 128mb ram is built in.

    I've owned about 10 ibooks and 20 Powerbooks in my day, but never the 933mhz iBook 14". Always heard it was a real disaster with the video card issue, worse than later models. Same with the 12" ...
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #13
    ok little off topic here, but how does someone go thru 30 laptops in about 8 years? :eek:
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    rjcalifornia

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Location:
    El Salvador
    #14
    Second that! :eek::confused:
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Goftrey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #15
    I've had 8 laptops over the past 24 months. I tend only to buy laptops that I know I can turn over for a quick buck though. I'll keep/use a laptop for as long as my attention span is happy, sell it on, make money on it & start all over again!
     
  16. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #16
    Come on, it's only 3,75 per year what gives less than one per 3 months ;)
     
  17. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #17
    Thanks, but I would like to upgrade to 1gb. I plan on running Lubuntu on it.

    Good point, but it's a small investment to make a laptop usable again. I'll get more using it then selling IMO.

    I checked ebay and most of what I see is new RAM modules. I saw one used one for sale which I will watch. On Amazon there is PNY for $28.99 and an All4Deals one for $20.96 (+$3.99 shipping). They sell the Crucial one for $30.52.
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #18
    ^^^I see plenty of used ones on eBay, just type "1GB sodimm ddr". Kingston, PNY, G-Skill, Crucial. Highest bid I've seen was about $15.
     
  19. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #19
    LOL, it was probably more. What happened was I loved my 2001 base line 400mhz Tibook, sold it in 05 because I thought I could just get a newer one and everything would be the same. Not. I got the DVI 667mhz Tibook and it freaked me out because with the better resolution, the screen font size was smaller. Sold it. Got a VGA 667 Tibook. Not happy there, either for the same reason -- the screen didn't look like my old Tibook. Got a 500mhz but then sold it, a 1 ghz, sold it, about five 12" Powerbooks -- held on to a 12" until 09 or 10 when I sold one or two of them here on MR. Bought a 1.2 14" Ibook, then didn't like it didn't have a superdrive, then bought a 1.33ghz 14" iBook which didn't have the "sudden motion sensor" and it froze the hard drive a week after I bought it when dropped about four inches in a protective bag; sold that, got the 1.42ghz iBook 14" liked that for a while. I owned practically every Tibook except for the 867mhz that only had 32mb vram.

    I'm skipping a whole bunch of other computers I had at the same time, especially the 12" iBook and 12" Powerbooks, owned another slew of iMacs, Powermac G5s, etc.

    I was on a quest to recreate the feel of that original Powerbook and on a learning curve about Apple, which turned into a buying and selling spree that lasted about five years in search of the perfect computer.

    I think for me my current set up is perfect. I need the Powerbook 1.67 DDR2 for my old files and the Mac Mini Server used as a regular mac mini with 16 gigs of ram is a great thing for me.

    Oh and i also owned about 10 or 12 Apple Cinema Displays -- finally ending with the 30" -- had a few acrylic HD's too. I'd fix up the laptops and sell them. Right now I've got a whole bunch of 12" Powerbooks in storage because I'm liking my 15" PB DDR2 too much.

    P.S. and then there was my "Cube" phase. MR made it lots of fun.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #20
    damn girl, I have only gone through about 4 macs in my lifetime mainly because I upgrade them a lot before I know that it won't meet my needs/just wanna faster machine
     
  21. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #21
    It was fun. And now I am the unofficial IT person of my family and friends (kind of a bummer but you probably are, too.)
     
  22. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #22
    Thanks! I just searched for "iBook G4 RAM" before and wasn't getting as useful results.

    More computers and laptops??? :)
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #23
    yeah, half the time its not even something wrong with the computer, people seem to just not know how to use it
     
  24. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #24
    Most of the eBay auctions for 1gb RAM modules are going for $20+. I'll keep watching but for that price I may as well spring for a new one IMO!
     
  25. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #25
    I don't know if this has been mentioned yet, but get a low density stick. High density won't work at it's full size or at all in a PowerPC Mac.
     

Share This Page