Can I use an old VGA monitor with DP G5 until 30" comes in

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by macharrington, Aug 8, 2004.

  1. macharrington macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #1
    I'm buying a DP 2.0 rather than a 2.5 and investing more in memory and a 30" monitor. I'll be using it in another country for a while and will have to leave before the 30" monitor arrives . Will an old VGA monitor work with the new 6800 card and DP 2.0 for a few months until I can get back to the US and bring back the 30", or should i just wait until I can get everything at once? Thanks for advice.
     
  2. Nspace macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    My guess is most likely, you will need to get a dvi to vga adapter though.

    Like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Should do, but you'll need a DVI-VGA adapter of course.

    edit: beaten to it.
     
  4. Maclarny macrumors 6502

    Maclarny

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Location:
    MN
    #4
    My G5 (Refurb 1.6), came with a DVI to VGA adapter. I am currently using an old 17 inch CRT studio Display.
     
  5. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    Apple gives you a DVI -> VGA adapter with your G5... or at least they always have in the past :)
     
  6. belair macrumors 6502

    belair

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Location:
    Luxland
    #6
    I confirm

    I got my 2.0 last week and apple gave me the DVI -> VGA with it.
    Connected my 21 studio display without a problem.
    I needed an extra powercord for the screeen tough.
    My old G3 took the power from the tower itself.
    The G5 does not offer that possibility.
    So I connected the screen to a separate powerplug.
     

Share This Page