OS X Can the PC "Rage" Texture Pop fix be Made to work for Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Irishman, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #1
    Has anyone tried this successfully?

    It seems like, on the PC, someone has created a shortcut that added some text to it that changed the parameters under which the game handles the high-rez textures, but I don't see how that would work on the Mac.
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #2
    Wow! Nearly 700 views but no replies tells me that there's a lot of interest in this issue, but that everyone reading is just as flummoxed as I am.

    :(
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #3
    What are the parameters? Can you start the Mac version with the same switches on the command line?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #4
    I have no experience with using the terminal app to do so. I suppose I'm willing to be coached through it if you have an idea?
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #5
    I googled the pop-in fix and it's just changes to rageconfig.cfg. I don't see anything about command line switches.
     
  6. Irishman, Feb 7, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #6
    So, when I do a Spotlight search for rageconfig.cfg on my Mac, it returns nothing. Is that the problem? That the game doesn't create a config.cfg file on its own?

    Also, on the steampowered forums about this issue from 2011, they're discussing a base folder, which Mountain Lion must be making hidden. How can I search and access hidden folders, if that's the case?

    I found these directions from this page. http://www.mikesel.info/show-hidden-files-mac-os-x-10-7-lion/

    Does anyone know if this is a safe change to make?

    "defaults write com.apple.Finder AppleShowAllFiles YES"

    It seems like it's an easy enough change to undo.

    "defaults write com.apple.Finder AppleShowAllFiles NO"
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #7
    The config is most likely in the User/Library/AppSupport folder, or inside the app itself (right click the app and choose "show package contents").

    As for the PC version, I don't have any issues with texture pop, except the first 5-10 secs after zoning, so I guess it boils down to how powerful your gfx is.
     
  8. Irishman, Feb 7, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #8
    New late 2012 21.5" iMac here. 2.9 GHz Intel Core i5, NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 512 MB GPU, 8 GB RAM.

    Alright, right-clicked the Rage application, showing the contents, and navigated to the Base folder. Inside, the only config file is called "default.cfg".

    Alright. I've copied and pasted the changes into a duplicate of the default config.cfg file on my desktop.

    This text:

    seta vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 "8192"
    seta vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly "8192"
    seta vt_pageimagesizeunique "8192"
    seta vt_pageimagesizevmtr "8192"

    and when I try to drag and drop into the base folder, it warns me with a pop-up that it is not editable and that I need to authenticate it to continue.

    Does anyone know from experience that I won't jack up my game install if I authenticate and continue?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #9
    Alright, so I created a separate rageconfig.cfg file and pasted just those lines I showed you in my last post, dragged it into the Base folder.

    I ran the game. It loaded, ran and looked the same as before. I didn't see a difference.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #10
    I really don't think u can go without popping on 512mb unless you turn gfx down quite a bit.

    In win7 im peaking 980MB at max settings @1680x1050 res
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #11
    Oh, I'm under no illusions that the pop in will go away. I'd be happy lessening it.
     

Share This Page