Can't install RAM!

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Cam493, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #1
    I'm able to install the bottom stick of memory, but the top slot is a pain in the neck. I have the right type of RAM, but it won't slide into the slot at all!
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    If you have the right RAM, it will fit. You probably need to adjust the angle.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #3
    I've tried at an angle and I've tried pressing it in and pushing, to no avail. The bottom stick went in fine, but the top slot isn't cooperating.
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    It takes a lot more effort than you might think...I hard this when upgrading my iMac to 16GB....Kernel panics etc. until I just applied a lot more pressure.

    Just make sure they are aligned correctly and use a little more force until you hear the "click"
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #5
    I finally got it in....to my surprise, I'm not seeing any change in terms of speed or performance. :(
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    What did you expect? And from what amount of RAM to what amount of RAM did you upgrade to?
     
  7. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
    It all depends on what you are doing....It's seldom a huge instant kick in the pants effect....More evident when multitasking, video work etc.

    Glad you got it in!
     
  8. macrumors regular

    MonkeyBrainz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #8
    Keep trying... that is... if it's the same exact RAM as the first. Sometimes RAM needs quite a bit of force in order to slide in. Make sure any metal holds are pushed to the side out of the way. But use common sense force, not Herculean force. The first time I ever replaced RAM, I felt like I was disarming a nuke. Was very nervous. :p

    EDIT: Looks like you figured it out.
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #9
    Some things I thought should be faster weren't, but I could tell overall it made a massive difference.

    Maybe you have a hardware problem :(
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #10
    More RAM allows you to have more data in that active memory space. The only cases where you'll see a noticeable speed increase are ...

    1. You're frequently out of available RAM. This means you're running memory-hungry apps like Photoshop on a regular basis. When you try to switch to another app, it'll need to free that memory then pull the app into RAM. More RAM helps directly in this situation.

    2. The memory you added is a faster speed than the old RAM. This is far less noticeable overall, since the bottleneck will tend to be the Hard Drive, but if you replace 1033MHz RAM with a faster variety (and the Mac supports it), you may see some benefit.

    In no other case will you really see any performance benefit from adding more RAM. If you really want to test it, see how many programs you can open before you start seeing it be sluggish (indicating RAM being swapped back out to the Hard Disk to make room).
     
  11. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #11
    This is where I saw it - I could have mail, safari, word, firefox (school), scrivener, and other stuff open and keep on working. I had tried doing some stuff in iPhoto & Aperture with all that going and it was croaking!
     

Share This Page