can't paste into word?!?!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sk3pt1c, Feb 20, 2006.

  1. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #1
    i copied some text off a web site and i can't seem to paste it into word whereas i can paste it into text editor. i've got office 2004 by the way. any ideas?
    i just realised and did not like it at all
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Is it just this section of text? Can you then copy from TextEdit and paste in Word?

    Do you have a link to the site? :)
     
  3. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #3
    yeah,i can paste from textedit to word after i paste it into text edit

    http://www.phigita.net/~harry/blog/718

    it's a poem by konstantinos kavafis

    the only reason i can think of is that it's in greek maybe?
    it shouldn't be that though cause i pasted it from text edit so what's up?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Okay, it's letting me paste it into Word X but it comes up with mainly blank characters because Word doesn't have the right font. It pastes normally in TextEdit for me because TextEdit can see that font. I'm not sure of a workaround though. :eek:
     
  5. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #5
    ^^ I get exactly the same. If you paste into TextEdit and then into Word, you also get non-characters, but slightly different non-characters than if you post directly from the website. Weird. :confused:

    Edit: It could be the encoding used - TextEdit (at least on my system) uses Unicode UTF-8, whereas Word defaults to Western European. I've tried the method set out in the Word Help file, but I don't seem to have all the options they specify, so I can't tell if it works. Basically go Preferences>General>Web Options>Encoding.
     
  6. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #6
    tried that,still doesn't work
    i also added greek fonts to the 'fonts' folder in office and still i can't paste
    major compatibility problem batman!!!

    it's pretty lame since i can type in greek or any other language but i can't paste greek text into word 2004. ????

    does anyone know a way around this?
     
  7. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #7
    Another odd thing - when it is pasted into Word and you can see all the non-characters and you have spell check turned on, you obviously get a load of the red squiggle spelling mistakes.

    If you switch the language of the document to Greek, these all disappear, meaning that Word is recognising the text as proper Greek words - it simply can't display the characters.
     
  8. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #8
    so,no solution?

    do apple works allow you to paste greek in?

    or open office?
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    I can't get it to work in AppleWorks either. I don't have OpenOffice. :eek:
     
  10. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
  11. kiwi-in-uk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    AU
  12. Butters macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    This sometimes happens to me when pasting from the web to word. I just wait a little then try again and it works. This might be a different issue to what you're having but it sounds similar.
     
  13. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #13
    kiwi-in-uk do you have anything specially changed in your settings or something?

    this is so bizarre!!!

    still doesn't work on mine
     
  14. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #14
    turns out that's a firefox problem
    i tried to paste the text using safari and it works fine
    hmmm...
    :)
     
  15. kiwi-in-uk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    AU
    #15
    Sorry about the slow reply (was celebrating my 50th on 24th).
    Yes - I used Safari to test the copy/paste, with no special settings.
    Is it working now?
     

Share This Page