Change keyboard shortcut to switch tabs in Safari?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kmj2318, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    kmj2318

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    #1
    Hi :)

    I'm wondering if I can change th keyboard shortcut in Safari from "cmd + shift +[ or ]" to something more easier to perform like "cmd + option + left or right arrow"

    Thanks for any help :eek:
     
  2. Stooby Mcdoobie, Sep 12, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #2
    Go to System Preferences -> Keyboard -> Application Shortcuts

    Then, click the "+" button. Select Safari as the Application on the Window that pops up. Type Select Previous Tab in the 'Menu Title' field. Then, press command+shift+left to set the shortcut and click 'Add' to save. Click the "+" again and repeat the process for command+shift+right (in this 'Menu Title' field, you will type Select Next Tab).

    edit: Just saw you wanted 'option' instead of shift. It will work either way - just replace shift with option in my example.

    Pics for reference:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #3
    I didn't even know about that shortcut. I've always used control+tab and control+shift+tab.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #4
    Didn't know about this knew about the other way (which I never used) But good info to know. Might start using this.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #5
    Hi All,

    I set up a keyboard shortcutto flip back and forth through my tabs in safari ( apple <- or apple -> ) - however they only work when the tab is empty.
    If i have a web page open in a tab, then when i press my shortcut, it goes 'back' or 'forwards' in the page.

    Any ideas on how i can stop this so i can cycle through my tabs as normal?

    Thanks
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #6
    THAT'S the one I wanted - control+tab. THANKS!! :):):)
     
  7. petervangalen, Feb 4, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    #7
    Update

    Stooby Mcdoobie's post (#2) still works except you have to name the shortcut "Show Previous Tab" and "Show Next Tab", just like under the "Window" menu.
     
  8. augustya, Feb 4, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    #8
    I just tried doing this, setting up shortcut using Option instead of 'command' to switch Tabs but isn't working for me :confused:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    #9
    Worked when using the word "show" not "select"

    Augustya, use the word show instead of select like petervangalen suggested and you should be all set up! :)
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    #10
    Did the 'Menu Title' change in Yosemite?
     

Share This Page