Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mmoin

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 15, 2001
Hi guys. I've been using a N656U scanner (canon) to scan pics for ebay and misc. stuff, and I've been using the trial version of Photoshop 7, which has been working perfectly, however my 30 day trial runs out today. Is there any cheaper utility that can import TWAIN and save to jpg? I'd really rather not pay $250 for the academic version of photoshop (I'm a college student). Thanks much, Andrew

Daveman Deluxe

macrumors 68000
Jun 17, 2003
Corvallis, Oregon
If you need scanner software, I recommend Hamrick's VueScan (http://hamrick.com/). It'll work with just about any scanner.

If you don't need the scanner software, just spring the $99 for Photoshop Elements 2.0.

BTW, I paid the $600 for Photoshop and now wish I had gotten Elements instead. I could have spend the $500 on getting a PowerBook instead of an iBook.

ftaok

macrumors 603
Jan 23, 2002
East Coast
Originally posted by Daveman Deluxe
If you need scanner software, I recommend Hamrick's VueScan (http://hamrick.com/). It'll work with just about any scanner.

If you don't need the scanner software, just spring the $99 for Photoshop Elements 2.0.

Just to add another point regarding Photoshop Elements.

Included in my package of Elements was a coupon for a $30 rebate if you were upgrading from Elements 1.0 or a competing application. Since I bought a Canon LiDE30 scanner which came with ArcSoft Photo Studio something, I was eligible for the rebate. That brought my price down from $80 to $50 for Elements 2.0.

You mentioned that you had a Canon Scanner, so I'm assuming that it came with some software. Most likely, it's listed on Adobe's competing products list. All I needed to do was photocopy the actual CD and 4 weeks later I got a check.