Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Stelliform

macrumors 68000
Oct 21, 2002
That is freakin awesome! I like the life savings caption... :) That is a really clean job.

mc68k

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Apr 16, 2002
Originally posted by icetraxxg5
Thats pretty cool. :D
Does it sound better then those iPod FM transmitters so you can play your iPod on the cars stereo?
the main reason i didn't go with a FM transmitter is because the frequency range isn't as good as a real audio cable. that and the fact it might need an unobstructed shot to the antenna (?)

i've never tried one before so i couldn't tell you. it sounds better than my old tape adapter but not as good as a real CD. there is less noise and more frequency range coming from a CD, but it's hardly noticeable.

mc68k

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Apr 16, 2002
Originally posted by evoluzione
nicely done.

so the Alpine unit has a pair of rca's at the back as an auxilliary input? very lucky :)
thanks. i shopped around for one that would do aux in. basically some of the major manufacturers have an adapter cable that will go into the cd changer port. most don't offer this option till you get past 300, this unit was only 180. who needs XM when you have an iPod?

http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S-0nbXgJwg2cK/ProdView.asp?s=0&cc=01&i=500KCM122B&o=&a=1

i wouldve taken more photos of the whole procedure, but i don't have a digital camera. :(

mac15

macrumors 68040
Dec 29, 2001
Johnny knoxville from Jackass has the same thing in his car. Well done!

unc32

macrumors regular
Jul 17, 2002
I still think the iTrip is the way to go. You can put it any car and use it in your home too. Plus, no actual work.

Gus

macrumors 65816
Jan 1, 2002
Minnesota
But the work is the fun of it, really. :)