Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

G4PPC

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 22, 2015
I'm still new to Mac's, but the most common problem encountered, is what ever software or game you want to use on a Mac it has to be classic carbon or Intel.

you have to find a version that is ethier Classic PPC Intel or a Universal Binary.

Can someone who programs for the Mac make a program that can take an app and convert it to what ever Platform for the Mac Carbon Classic or Intel.

Plus why don't they make Universal Binary's as a standard for the Mac. Windows used to have standards many years ago it doesn't now but is between 16bit, 32bit, 64bit and not different platforms. AMD works the same a Intel, and etc.

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
I think you may be a little confused.

A Universal Binary for an app is PowerPC/Intel. Carbon is OS9 while Cocoa is OS X.

I've never heard of Classic PPC Intel as there's no such thing.

Now when Snow Leopard was released, Apple included Rosetta which is essentially a behind the scenes app translator that allows PowerPC only apps to run on an Intel Mac. Apple killed Rosetta with Lion.

Universal builds of apps were ubiquitous between 2006 and 2008. Around 2009 is when dev support started dropping for PowerPC Macs (very few devs make anything for OS9 anymore). A Universal build now requires devoting resources to what is essentially a dead platform (although we all know it isn't). The return is not worth the investment so devs now only develop for Intel Macs.

Reactions: Altemose

MysticCow

macrumors 68000
May 27, 2013
Carbon *can* be a hybrid application that can run in both 9 and X (up to 10.6). AppleWorks is a good example here, as it's "carbonized" to run under 9 and X in its last few iterations. Your Mileage May Vary when it comes to Carbon apps.

Cocoa is pure 100% OS X and will not run under OS 9. Universal Binaries are OS X only also.