Cloning HD...best way to do it?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ITASOR, May 15, 2006.

  1. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #1
    Here's the situation: I have a HD from an iMac G3 333 with Panther installed on it. It's a 6GB HD. I need to clone it to new 80GB HD...What would be the best way to do this?

    Should I put it in my Power Mac along with the new HD, boot off the smaller HD with Panther, install CCC, and use that to clone it over?

    Does that sound like it will work?

    Ryan
     
  2. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #2
    Use Disk Utility, create a disk image from the drive (Make sure it's read only), then select the 80GB drive and pick the restore tab. Under the restore tab select the image of the 6GB drive you just made and click restore.
     
  3. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
  4. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    Might be even safer to do so from the supplied install disk.
    My personal fav is drive genius (the cloning feature is basically copy-cat).
     
  5. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #5
    The free version of SuperDuper or CCC will do it regardless of what disk you boot from. The size of the disk doesn't matter either.
     
  6. adk macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
  7. berg macrumors member

    berg

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    #7
    I think that Carbon copy or SuperDuper should work ...

    As far as making a disk image ... I/ve never done that ... but from the help viewer in disk utility ... when you make the disk image it will be as large as whatever is on your drive

    With a small drive like yours .... the disk image may be too big ...

    Cheers ....
     
  8. ITASOR thread starter macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #8
    Well, I can keep the 40GB in my G4 with Tiger on it, hook up the 6GB, make the disk image (onto the 40GB), then put the new 80GB in the G4 and restore the disk image I just made (on the 40GB) back onto the 80.

    Then I won't need to bother with booting from the Panther install and fool around with that, except for testing.

    Oh, and CCC is basically just a time saver method of doing that right? It basically makes the disk image while copying it over at the same thing, which is more ideal for backing up? I guess either method will work, I'll use the Disk Utility one though, thanks guys!
     

Share This Page