"Connection failed" error when booting Leopard

Discussion in 'OS X' started by jjo, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. jjo
    macrumors member

    Sep 22, 2007
    Lately, my MacBook's been popping-up window after boot that says, "Connection failed. The server may not exist or it is not operational at this time."

    I don't know what server my Mac is trying to connect to. How/where can I look to see what's trying to connect, and to shut it off from trying at boot?

    Other than this error dialog box, my Mac works fine otherwise.


    Attached Files:

  2. Administrator emeritus


    Jan 15, 2006
    The Kop
    Check System Preferences - Accounts - Login items

    look for an item that has the same icon, e.g. see the picture below

    Picture 1.png
  3. jjo
    thread starter macrumors member

    Sep 22, 2007
  4. macrumors newbie

    Nov 19, 2007
  5. macrumors newbie

    May 14, 2008
    I'm having the exact same error, but there is nothing in my login items that should be causing that. Any other ideas?

  6. macrumors newbie

    May 13, 2009
    I'm having this problem whenever I try to access the help viewer within software. I've checked the login items and there's nothing there. Any other suggestions?
  7. macrumors newbie

    Mar 10, 2008
    I get the same problem! I also running Snow Leopard and it seems to have gotten worse with the upgrade! EVERYTHING runs slower because it keeps trying to find this server. This has got to be a bug.

  8. macrumors newbie

    Oct 3, 2007
    Find that server

    I'm getting this after buying a new machine and migrating my account to it. Now it's looking for my old machine - it's not a startup item, or a recent server (though I did connect to it a few times before wiping it). I get the popup 3 times when booting up - then it doesn't seem to affect anything. I'm stumped as to what might be trying to connect.
  9. macrumors 65816

    Sep 28, 2009
    i had this pop up all the time on leopard, try go to network preferences, and fiddling around with it, like maybe change the top bar to automatic, or advanced and remove networks that auto-connect, i think i did something in there to stop it, like read the message and try to figure it out, its like a riddle or a puzzle, you'll get it soon.
  10. macrumors newbie

    Jan 11, 2012

    Ive got 11 iMac 24's, i am running a back up hard drive through one of the macs which is acting as the server. I get the error message keep poping up when i try and access the alias backup hard drive.
    I try and click connect as but it will not allow me to re enter details or anything.
    i haven't changed the ip address's of the macs and its weird that like 9 work and then 2 dont. when they have all been set up the same, same operating system (snow leopard).

    I have tried to delete, move to the desktop and rename the com.apple.____ whatever files - that didnt work

    I have nothing in the login items.

    Any ideas
  11. macrumors member

    Oct 23, 2007
    Republic of Texas
    I would take care to make sure you are deleting the specific plist files you need to and not just dumping them in bulk. Here is the plist you need to delete to clear out the login items (helpful when they don't delete correctly from the Account preferences).

Share This Page