Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

WilPhoto

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 30, 2012
I'm a full-time professional photographer, I shoot weddings and need a desktop that can perform well for photo editing. I'm thinking about getting the current 2012 Mac Mini and basically maxing it out. I'd get the 2.6GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, install aftermarket RAM, and I'd opt for apple to include their 256GB Solid State Drive.

After considering my priorities, I just need a machine that can run blazingly fast in the following mission-critical applications: Lightroom 4.x, Photoshop, PhotoMechanic, and InDesign (for wedding albums).

The Mac Mini is attractive because I have a good monitor that I already like, and my current editing machine (a 2007 white macbook) is having trouble performing in those apps, especially Lightroom. Ideally, I'd like Lightroom to be completely "fluid" and cut the lag when switching between photos in the develop module as much as possible, and have near-instant results when adjusting the sliders, etc.

Also, I'm using an external firewire drive to store my photos— the Lacie 2Big, which has a 3TB drive with my photos and another 3TB drive acting as it's clone in RAID1 configuration. I connect to the drive via firewire 800 but it also has a USB 3.0 slot. Any idea which one is best for my intended use? If maximum performance is my ultimate priority, should I be considering an upgrade to their Thunderbolt series instead?