Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gwe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2003
the world is my home
hey guys
thanks for reading this post

I have a question for everyone who makes home movies with iMovie and then exports them to make their own DVDs. I appreciate suggestion, but would really prefer real life first hand experiences over anything else.

Requirements:
sub 1000 camera ($ is an issue, I am a student)
has to be able to work with my powerbook to make home movies

Questions:
Is it really as easy as Apple plays it?
What type of camcorder is supported?
Has Apple's "Compatibility List" been exhausted?

Thanks guys!

Ciao
Alex

aim: geoffreywarnered

ehawk

macrumors newbie
May 8, 2003
Michigan
Yes it is easy

I have a canon zr40. Works great with imovie. You can't beat the price on the canon zr series if you are just looking for a casual non professional camera. imovie is very easy to work with and can create some great looking movies. Express does a much better job but the learning curve is a little steeper. I think you will find that it is very easy and a lot of fun.

SilentPanda

Moderator emeritus
Oct 8, 2002
The Bamboo Forest
I have a Canon ZR60 camcorder and I love it... cost about $500 or so I believe... if you're buying a new Mac I'd recommend getting Final Cut Express as it's only $99... pick up Final Cut Express for Dummies to learn the basics (worked well for me). I get really good video on my ZR60 and the audio is great except that you can hear the tape motors (just a hummmm)... but with most compact cameras I think that's just a general issue...

iMovie is super easy to use if you don't get Express... if you can afford it, I'd get express with your Mac.