Dashboard widgets arrange

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by baxlobs, Dec 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Suffolk UK
    #1
    I have downloaded a new widget for the dashboard, but it sits on top of the 4 that were there by default. With all that space that seems silly.

    There must be some way to re-arrange them?

    Could a kind mac user advice please?
     
  2. -Concept-, Dec 19, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2012

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Location:
    In front of a computer. Any computer.
    #2
    I do remember having this problem myself, I just forget whether or not there is a fix... but I think that what I found was that they are either organized by date in descending order or alphabetically. The bar at the bottom is also alphabetical by default and can't be changed.
     
  3. macrumors G3

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the lens, UK
    #3
    I think you can just click on them and drag them where you like.
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Location:
    In front of a computer. Any computer.
    #4
    Wait.. do you mean in the list? Or the bar? Or just in the dashboard in general? You can click and drag on the dashboard, and to remove widgets, hit the plus sign in the lower left hand corner. A little 'x' symbol should come up in the upper LH corner of all of the apps. I hope this is what you're asking though.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Suffolk UK
    #5
    Thanks all, I thought I had tried clicking and dragging but it did not seem to work. However after seeing your replies I gave it another try. It does work.

    My problem was finger trouble. :eek:

    I will get used to the trackpad in time. It is great overall, but some features don't work the way I expect.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #6
    Question: Do your widgets stay exactly where you dragged them? Because my don't. Everytime I open the dashboard they're slightly misplaced.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Suffolk UK
    #7
    They are at the moment, the Mac has had a "sleep", but not rebooted since I placed them. I will see what happens after a reboot.
     

Share This Page