Deleting A Password for a Standard User

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by MajorBulk, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    MajorBulk

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Lincolnshire UK
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I have a 2012 iMac, and have set it up as me as the administrator and my wife as a standard user.
    My wife has to login with a password, as she wondered if this can altered to login without putting the password in?

    I have looked into the user account, but cannot see anyway of clearing the password.
    Have also made the effort of doing a search on here, but nothing relevant to my enquiry came up :(

    Thanks for any help :D
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Click login options and choose automatic login for her account.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    MajorBulk

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Lincolnshire UK
    #3
    Yeah, I did that, but after a reset it just went straight to her account :confused:

    Is that normal....we just wanted it to boot up with the option of either of us to login. It was like that before we put a password to alter something.

    My apologies for the dumb question, but this is my first iMac and the OS X, although I do have a iPad and iPhone, but there slightly different :cool:

    Thanks for your reply though :D
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #4
    Not sure if this only works for admin accounts, but if you change password, you can just leave the new password slots blank.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    MajorBulk

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Lincolnshire UK
    #5
    Ah! I did wonder if just to leave it blank, but does it not keep asking till you type some characters ? Will have a try later.
    It's not a biggy, but just wanna help,the wife login without putting password every time :rolleyes:

    Thanks also to you,for your reply :D
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #6
    For me, it just asks, "You did not enter a password for this user account. Are you sure you want to do this?"
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    MajorBulk

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Lincolnshire UK
    #7
    Apologies for the delayed reply :eek:

    Yep, fixed it...I didn't think it was that easy, just leave it blank :rolleyes:

    Many thanks to all the responses :D
     

Share This Page