desktop icon font distorted

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by tonywalker23, Jan 4, 2004.

  1. tonywalker23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Location:
    SC
    #1
    i do not know why it does this and i have not really found a pattern:

    the labels up under the drive icons on the desktop sometimes are fuzzy. if i hold the cursor and drag over the icons it will go away. has anyone else noticed this?
     
  2. kettle macrumors 65816

    kettle

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
    #2
    yeah....

    I have a very messy desktop with junk everywhere, I have seen this a lot since upping to panther. I have noticed that moving a window over the artifacts and then removing does not help, the only thing that seems to help is to select and name change the icon.

    64MB ATi 8500 in Sawtooth 450Mhz
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Same thing's happening here. Radeon 9000 in a 1.25 MDD.
     
  4. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    Re: yeah....

    That using "windows" to erase poor rendering is a Miscrosoft Windows trick. Since Mac OS X uses Quarts, rendering flaws don't happen because of mistakes in rendering behind objects after they are moved. That's because all window layers in OS X are rendered, even when overlapped seections are hidden. Removing windows over the desktop will not forces a rerender.
     
  5. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #5
    Re: desktop icon font distorted

    Yeah, I had that for a while. Especially with the labels on icons for CDs and DVDs. But I'm almost certain is has gone away. I haven't had it for the longest time now. It was probably something in one of the Panther updates that shuffled the problem.
     
  6. kettle macrumors 65816

    kettle

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
    #6
    Re: Re: yeah....

    Actually, it's a trick from when 9.0.4 went to 9.1, there were strange rendering problems starting to happen with old screen information being left here and there in small fragments. The best way to remove the said annoyances was to move a near by window over each particular artifact in turn.
    With the P.D.F. native layering in Quartz, I have pointed out previously that activity in the actual layer containing the artifact, such as selecting the icon in renaming mode will force the layer to renew the corrupted information.

    new Info. I haven't seen this since updating Quicktime 6.4 to 6.5. Is this luck or does this follow withother users?
     
  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
  8. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #8
    Re: Re: Re: yeah....

    I think you might be right. The issue disappeared very close to that time when I update QuickTime 6.5. Does anyone have QuickTime 6.5 that still has this problem?
     
  9. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
  10. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #10
    Bummer.
     
  11. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    Thanks :(
     
  12. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #12
    Your Welcome. And do you live on this forum, you do you have a life?
     
  13. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    Thanks...again.
    Yes.
    Quite obviously, no :eek: :p
     
  14. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    Re: Re: Re: Re: yeah....

    I've still got the problem with 6.5 too. And edesign, if it makes you feel any better, I don't have a life either :eek:
     
  15. yoman macrumors 6502a

    yoman

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    In the Bowels of the Cosmos
    #15
    Re: desktop icon font distorted

    The fix that I use for this problem is to relaunch the finder.
    Press APPLE (or Command ) +option + esc

    essentially force quitting the finder

    It has worked every time for me.

    Let me know if it works for you.

    Restarts also fix it too.
     
  16. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #16
    The last couple days I've had a couple of my icons get all pixelated. This has happened when I use command-tab to switch between apps, the graphic that pops up in the middle of the screen (yesterday it was my mail icon, then my iChat icon went) is all fuzzy looking. I logged out and back in which didn't help, then I restarted which fixed it. Didn't think to quit the finder and relaunch though....

    Oh yeah, 10.3.2, Radeon Mobility 9000
     
  17. TigerPRO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #17
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: yeah....

    Well, I think it's an undisputed fact that most of us have real lives, considering the fact we use Macintosh computers. It's the PC users that need a life. An iLife, Panther Life, and a Mac Life.
     
  18. kettle macrumors 65816

    kettle

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Location:
    England, Great Britain (Airstrip One)
    #18
    Re: Re: desktop icon font distorted

    That's not a fix! That's what windoze users do, "oh, just flick it off and on at the wall and things should be ok untill the next problem."

    A fix stops the problem happening in the first place. I don't want a third party hack either. It worked fine before, so they should deduce what exactly made it happen.

    Another thought, do you ever get the feeling that there are two OS development teams? Like, team A did 10.0 and 10.2 while Team B worked on 10.1 and 10.3. It just feels like some of the feel of what made 10.1 clunky is in 10.3. Am I completely ground bound from my fav conspiracy branch?:confused:
     

Share This Page