Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

excalibur313

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 7, 2003
Cambridge, MA
This is going to sound much more sketchy than it is but I have a computer set up at my parents house and I want to use remote desktop at college to help them back up some information. I was curious if there is a way I can determine an IP address from either email or an aim screen name that is away. I know that I could ask but they are sort of computer illiterate and I'd like to surprise them and do it before they get back to their computer. I know the passwords and everything and I could probably guess as to the router IP within the network. Also does remote desktop work with computers that don't have it? I'm kind of new to the software. Thank you so much for your help.
Stephen

yenko

macrumors 6502a
Aug 29, 2005
SouthWest-USA
excalibur313 said:
This is going to sound much more sketchy than it is but I have a computer set up at my parents house and I want to use remote desktop at college to help them back up some information. I was curious if there is a way I can determine an IP address from either email or an aim screen name that is away. I know that I could ask but they are sort of computer illiterate and I'd like to surprise them and do it before they get back to their computer. I know the passwords and everything and I could probably guess as to the router IP within the network. Also does remote desktop work with computers that don't have it? I'm kind of new to the software. Thank you so much for your help.
Stephen

WHOA! :eek:

There may be HUGE legal ramifications in doing what you're proposing! :(

Counterfit

macrumors G3
Aug 20, 2003
sitting on your shoulder