Dock drop?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TyleRomeo, Jun 22, 2005.

  1. TyleRomeo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    With panther I was able to drag items onto a program's icon in the dock. (Eg. an mp3 onto itunes and itunes would add the file)

    with tiger I can't seem to be able to drag anything onto the dock's icons. Anyone else with this issue.
     
  2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    I did that a few weeks ago with photo's and iphoto and it worked....
     
  3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #3
    The only problem I've had is with Photoshop. When I drag'n'drop an image file on the Photoshop icon (in the dock or /Applications) Photoshop opens but not the image file (has to use Pgotoshop's Open File...). Not too annoying, and I think I've read somewhere that others have the same problem, so I expect it to be fixed either by a Mac OS X update or a Photoshop update... ;)

    All other dock icons work as they always have...

    Have you tried repairing permissions...?
     
  4. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #4
    This is a problem specific to Photoshop- I don't know if it's when you reistall photoshop, or when you upgrade your OS, but at some point, one of Photoshop's files doesn't get copied to the right place. There's an explanation and fix on Adobe's site. I don't have the link to the page in front of me or I'd give it to you.
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Are your file associations OK? One way to test this is by double-clicking various documents and seeing if they open in the correct application(s).
     
  6. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    What version of Photoshop? Everything works fine for me on my G4 running 10.4.1 and PS 7.
     
  7. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #7
    This is definitely an abnormal situation, and if it were a common issue you'd be hearing a whole lot of complaining about it, so it must be something specific to your system. Aside from the obvious stuff (permissions repair, restarting, and a disk check), the only other things I can think of that *might* help would be rebuilding the Classic desktop using the Classic control panel, or reinstalling--drag and drop is pretty fundamental to the MacOS, so if it's not working, something's seriously off.

    You haven't installed any 3rd party hacks/enhancements, have you?
     
  8. TyleRomeo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    i've repaired permissions and i stil get nothing to launch from the dock, not iphoto, itunes, photoshop, quicktime, i can drag and open anything from the dock. what else could it be?
     
  9. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #9
    It may just be limited to CS- but maybe not. It all depends on when you upgraded what. It's a commonly known issue that can be easily fixed by moving a file from one place to another on your system.

    Re: the dock- 1) have you tried deleting your dock preferences? 2) have you moved your applications into weird places or put them into sub-folders or something?
     
  10. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
  11. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #11
    You can force OS X to rebuild file associations with
    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/\
    Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister \
    -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user
    (If the program does show up in Open With... in the Finder, this may not do much of anything for you. Also, because associations have been reset, expect some of those "this is the first time you have run this program" warnings.)
     
  12. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #12
    You can force iTunes to open your music file by holding option+apple while dragging it to the itunes icon
     
  13. point665 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #13
    It happens with Photoshop if you upgrade your OS or drag and drop Photoshop... just reinstall Photoshop.
     
  14. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
    Or, if you've done an Archive and Install, copy over the Adobe Unit Type file from Previous System (or backup) to /Library/ScriptingAdditions/
     

Share This Page