Does anyone here use "Click to Flash"?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by 62tele, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #1
    Is a suitable alternative to installing Flash on my MBA?

    How does Click to Flash work?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #2
    Google it...yes...install flash....just puts a play button over the flash content...works very well.....
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK/US
    #3
    It simply disables the flash component until you click it. It just gives you the choice which is a lot nicer on the MBA as Flash is known to kill the battery. You'd still have Flash on your MBA, its just a lot more controlled because flash content won't load automatically, which is the way it should be imo!
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    #4
    I found it unnecessary. I just use adblock, which disables all Flash ads. If I do see Flash content, it's because I purposely went looking for it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #5
    Thanks for responses.

    I'm going to try it.

    Do I understand correctly that it plays content in Quicktime?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    treynolds

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    No, it plays Flash content normally; you just have to click on the Flash icon to get it to play. Very slick and absolutely essential IMO on an MBA.

    Tony
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    Apple OC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hogtown
    #7
    Click To Flash is awesome ... I highly recommend it
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #9
    Is your clicktoflash still working on youtube (playing quicktime)?

    Mine stopped on my ibook g4, and I can't seem to even find a working forum to post the issue on the old CTF site.

    Lighthouse says CTF cancelled their support site.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #10
    I use it and Adblock and browsing the internet is bliss.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Yessir! And it makes surfing the internet way more enjoyable and it's saving battery life. Win/Win !
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
  13. macrumors 6502

    happyslayer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    #13
    To install click2flash in Lion, you must go into Safari, goto Preferences, goto Extensions, goto Get Extensions (button) and download it there. I could not get it to work downloading it from the Internet. (That's for Snow Leopard I think)

    And yes, I use it and swear by it and recommend it to all my friends and customers with Macs.

    I easily get at least 30 min more battery time - although I use the Internet a lot.
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    #14
    Click2ToPlugin Now...

    I wanted to use C2F, but on the website there's a disclaimer at the top >>

    Note: Safari 5.1 drops support for WebKit Plugins, which unfortunately includes ClickToFlash.
    Try out Marc Hoyois’ ClickToPlugin Safari Extension.

    So...I've been using ClickToPlugin and I have to say I'm very impressed. The preference menu is a bit complicated, but you'll figure it out in a couple of days.

    Don't know if you do much YouTube surfing, but if you do you should "opt in" to the html5 trial >>> http://www.youtube.com/html5. Doing so will let you view videos which are available in html5 format, and if not will revert to the normal Flash player. However, remember that if you enable ClickToPlugin on YouTube, your browser will attempt to use an html5 player for "all" videos.

    I actually disabled ClickToPlugin on YouTube since I opted into the html5 trial. Specifically because some of the videos I enjoy watching just load faster using the Flash player. I don't feel the need to block all Flash content on YouTube.

    As for the rest of the web, yes ClickToPlugin all the way!
     
  15. Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    There's still a stand-alone ClickToFlash extension......you can find it here along with the ClickToPlugin extension: http://hoyois.github.com/safariextensions/clicktoplugin/
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #16
    So far, I've been quite happy using Safari without Flash installed. I have youtube setup to use html5 (youtube.com/html5), which covers a lot.

    I also installed google Chrome, which has a flash player built in. If there is ever a place I want to go that requires flash, I just fire up chrome real quick.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #17
    Can you install "click to flash" on the Chrome web browser? If so....how ?

    Thanks!
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #18
    Google Chrome

    I don't have Flash installed.

    I use Google Chrome (has Flash built into the browser, keeps my OS clean of Flash) with the "Click to Play" option enabled, it functions just like Click2Flash and disables other plugins besides Flash, I love it:

    [​IMG]
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #19
    I have it on the pro and everything is just a little bit quicker
     
  20. 2IS
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #20
    I love Click to Flash. It's not so much that the ads bother me, but my battery life is greatly improved without all the useless flash content wasting resources.
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #21
    Thank you!

    But for the people that dont know how to get to that page to do so.....was me (had to google it). Type in "about:flags" in URL. Then scroll down to "click to play". Works great!

    Thanks again.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #22
    I used to use it, but I read somewhere that even with Click2Flash installed, the website registers you using Flash, which doesn't incentivise them to change. Instead, I uninstalled Flash, and just use Chrome for those sites that require it.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #23
    Use Click to Plugin, Click to Flash is outdated. I'm using Chrome as my Flash Browser, not really useful for anything else.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #24
    Outdated?
     
  25. Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #25
    Well:

    Safari 5.1 drops support for WebKit Plugins, which unfortunately includes ClickToFlash.

    That's why you have to use one of the new extensions that I discussed in my post above.
     

Share This Page