dust accumulating in G5

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by switchedanhappy, Mar 6, 2004.

  1. switchedanhappy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    ct usa
    #1
    hey guys, can anyone help me out on this one? I opened up my G5 yesterdayand noticed that there is quite a bit of dust accumulating on the lower "shelf" of the cards "thermal zone" (pci card section). does anyone know If this can hurt my G5? if so, would I need to ground myself to clean it? (instructions on grounding would be greatly appreciated) thanks!
     
  2. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #2
    heh, you never open a computer case before have you? you shouldn't let in build up a lot because it clogs your fans eventually (it takes a long time). get a can of compressed air and that will take care of it.

    to ground yourself, you can just touch your case under two condition:
    1 your case is still plug in.
    2 the plug you used has a working ground on it.
     
  3. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    Well its already a step to actually notice (and care) about the dust. Now all you have to do is clean it :)

    (and remember to do this every few months)

    I wonder how if one those Sharper Image air filtering devices would help out if you placed it in the same room as the computers...
     
  4. KC9AIC macrumors 6502

    KC9AIC

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan or Longview, Texas
    #4
    You could probably use compressed air to get out the dust. Then, you wouldn't be touching anything, and would have no worries about frying your equipment (though you should probably ground anyway, in case you do accidentally touch something.) Don't tell anyone, but I've cleaned out dust from inside computers using big home vacuum cleaners, though I don't recommend it.
     
  5. mikeabnooy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    #5
    Vaccuum your house!


    i say vaccuum more... don't let the dust collect around your house either!
     
  6. Opteron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Location:
    South Australia
    #6
    Yeah the vaccuum cleaner has served me well, now though I leave both doors off my computer and the dust has stopped accumulating.
     
  7. takao macrumors 68040

    takao

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Dornbirn (Austria)
    #7
    sounds pretty familiar for me ;-)
    for the 'big dust' (in power supply or in intakes) it works fine for the small things like cpu cooler i am more cautious and watch my hands better ;-)
     
  8. RiseAgainst macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #8
    You didn't say, but im assuming your computer is on the floor?

    If it is, put it up on something to raise it. Your computer will take in a substanial amount more dust if it is on the floor rather than, say, a desk.
     
  9. mangoduck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Location:
    lost at sea
    #9
    i wouldn't recommend this as it eliminates any logical airflow. heat is radiated slowly rather than carried away. the lack of dust may be convenient, but it shows that little or no air is directed where it needs to be.

    put it up on your desk and/or clean more frequently around it. get some compressed air; it's handy.
     
  10. switchedanhappy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Location:
    ct usa
    #10
    thanks guys, I'll get on it, and you guessed correctly, my G5 is under my desk.
     
  11. krimson macrumors 65816

    krimson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Location:
    Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia
    #11

    I had an ionic breeze running in myroom, it helped with the dust ALOT.. it died a few months ago (after warranty), and my room is horrible now, i have to do lots of dusting every few weeks.

    Though, be VERY careful with those ion generators, it fragged the image chip on my Nikon Coolpix when i left it on the shelf next to the Breeze. I wouldn't leave it anywhere near anything you dont want being hit by it's magnetic field.
     
  12. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #12
    Yep, that's why I'd keep an "ionic" air filter far from my computer; they basically impart a static charge on dust particles, then attract them to a charged metal plate.

    Problem is, lots of static, particularly if you're in a dry climate. Put one of those things near your G5 and who knows what might happen.

    For the same reason, you want to be careful vacuuming near your computer--vacuums have a great big magnetic field generating motor in them. The motorized brush head does, too, and it ends up even closer to your computer--I had my PRAM screwed up by vacuuming once, though thankfully no hard drive badness happened.

    Personally, I use the cheapest possible method: Blow hard on the dust. Makes a mess, and doesn't get things "clean", but it's enough to get the chunks that might obstruct airflow out of there.
     
  13. Opteron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Location:
    South Australia
    #13
    Actually my computer now runs cooler than before, when the doors were on.
     
  14. Opteron macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Location:
    South Australia
    #14
    *Hangs head in Shame*
    so have I:p
     
  15. pinto32 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #15
    Haha....I got in at 4 last night, and instead of goin to sleep, cleaned my puter tower... :p

    I just wanted to comment on the grounding thing...the best place to discharge you static is on the back of your (still plugged in) power supply. Also, if you are gonna use any metal tools, I would suggest discharging them the same way. If possible, avoid playing with your computers guts while you are standing on carpet, but if you can't avoid it, you can get static-discharge wristbands at most computer shops or on the net (tehy attach to the back of your powersupply).

    Also, it doesnt hurt to shoot some compressed air into your powersupply either...
     
  16. Golem macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    #16

    As have I, mind you it was a cx that hadnt been opened in 6+ years. Hey our computer isnt working can you have a look at it. Open it up and their was just a thick grey layer like felt with no Motherboard to be seen. *shudders*. Mind you a vacuam+a bit of flicking around with a paint brush and it ran up fine. As for my G5 I have on top of my desk behind my monitor not the most convenient position but no dust at all in 6 month and since i basically live on a sand dune I really dont want the dust off the floor getting into the computer.
     
  17. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #17
    Most dust will not ruin your system, I saw one lady that brought her computer in that was caked in dust, I opened the case and a huge cloud of dust came out. It was amazing that it was still working. If dust does get in the fans clean it out, thats where it can do damage.
     
  18. mangoduck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Location:
    lost at sea
    #18
    then i'm guessing your case fans aren't moving a whole lot of air and/or your system doesn't run too hot to begin with. what kind of system are we talking about? i just built a 'doze workstation with somewhat creative airflow so i'm genuinely interested in the topic.
     

Share This Page