enable "Duplex Printing Unit" in command prompt?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by trey5498, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    by using
    Code:
    lpadmin -p print-queue -o Duplex=DuplexNoTumble
    I can set a printer to default as duplex. However, how to I enable the "Duplex Printing Unit" via the terminal?
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #2
    Were you able to find the answer? I'm trying to do the same thing.
     
  3. kryten2, May 29, 2012
    Last edited: May 29, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20120313110411984
    http://www.dice.inf.ed.ac.uk/units/user_support/docs/cups-printing.html

     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    #4
    I know it's a bit late, but Google brought me here.

    Code:
    -o APOptionalDuplexer=True
    That did it for me.

    I found that out with:
    Code:
    lpoptions -p printername -l
    I'm using
    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/PrintCore.framework/Versions/A/Resources/Generic.ppd
    which is Generic PostScript Printer by the way.
    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/PrintCore.framework/Versions/A/Resources/GenericPrinter.ppd
    is Generic PCL Printer or just Generic Printer.
     

Share This Page