Enabling Disk Use on iPod

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Shotgun OS, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I have some movies and music on my computer that my friend wants. I wanted to know if I can enable it for disk use, put the data on it, then take it to his house and plug it in to his dock connector. What will happen? My iPod is formatted for a Mac and his computer is a PC. I want to make sure I don't mess the iPod up. Will the iPod just show up the same way an external HD would?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #2
    Someone already posted the same question Here
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    When you insert your iPod, in the options section, there's a checkbox that says "enable disk use". Tick it. You should be fine; the iPod won't get messed up. Oh yea, the sample picture is from a 1G 512 MB shuffle so you don't ask "where'd the other XX GB go?".

    That person knew to check the box but didn't get the slider.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Thanks!
    I did search the forums, too.....nothing came up. :confused:
    thanks again
     
  5. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    Wait...I'm just a measly shuffle user, so all of my info about Mac and PC-formatted iPods is secondhand, so correct me if I'm wrong.

    The Mac-formatted iPod is in HFS+, so the PC won't be able to see it as an external unless you use something like MacDrive, correct?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #6
    I agree with you on this. If the iPod is formatted for a Mac, then the PC won't be able to see it.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #7
    Right when you plug a Mac formatted iPod into a PC it wants to format it.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    I thought all recent iPods were Windows format as FAT32 works on both PC and Mac? Doesn't help OP if they have an older iPod though. It's why I didn't mention it.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    I Have a 5.5 gen iPod with video capability.

    So what do I do? Format it for a PC, then reformat it for my Mac?
     
  10. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    Yep. You need to format it Windows on a PC.

    You can leave it Windows formatted and still sync it to a Mac. At least until there's a software upgrade at which point it'll want to reformat to Mac.

    B
     

Share This Page