Entourage: deleting mail on server without deleting on Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Argelius, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. Argelius macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #1
    I am using Entourage as my email reader on Tiger.

    My email accounts are currently set up to "delete messages from server when they are deleted from this computer."

    Unless I am missing something, this doesn't mean "when they are deleted from within Entourage (i.e. moved to Deleted Items folder).

    Being a recent Switcher(TM), I was used to MS Outlook being set up to delete mail from the server when it's moved from the Inbox.

    Is there anyway to have this behavior with Entourage?

    Thanks!
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    The very simpliest way is to File > Save As... an individual mail message. The default is as a text document. However, the pop-up menu at the bottom of the page allows you to select mail message as the document type. That is the simpliest way, but it works only for discrete messages. You may also archive a large number of messages. To do this, you have to run all around Job's barn. You must create a project, add the messages to that project, archive (back-up) the project, and then delete the originals. You may import the archive anytime that you want to access you archived messages.
     
  3. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    I just move the selected messages from my Inbox under "Chris' Email Account" to a selected folder under "Folder's on My Computer." This actually copies the email messages rather than moving them, allowing me to delete them from my inbox (and the server) and still having a copy of them on my computer.
     
  4. Argelius thread starter macrumors 6502

    Argelius

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    #4
    I am a moron...


    Jeez...I am a moron.

    I must have looked at that account setting page about a gazillion times. Duh. If I uncheck the "save message on server" box, it does what I want. Never mind...
    :eek:
     
  5. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    Yes, with pop accounts. If you need access from multiple places though, you'll want that checked.

    BTW, it doesn't delete them when you move them to deleted items. Instead it deletes them when you empty deleted items.

    But you seem to have solved the problem.
     

Share This Page