Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JoeCmis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2007
Hi I am very new to Java programming, right now I am using a mac os 10.49
I can create java documents using bbedit and then they compile when i type
javac.

But when i type java *.java I get the following error

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError

If I type java "filename"
without the .java at the end of the file the terminal has no response

I understand i am supposed to some how set the classpath but i do not know how to do this
Also I can create and compile and then run my java in the eclipse program that i have installed, but not from terminal and im not sure why.

I do have eclipse installed and my java will compile and run in eclipse with no problems.
Thanks for the help.

toddburch

macrumors 6502a
Dec 4, 2006
Katy, Texas
I had the same errors when I started using java from the command line in Terminal.

When you compile, you supply the .java in your syntax. IE

javac myfile.java

However, when you run the program, you don't:

java myfile

Java will run the myfile.class file produced from the compile step. If you navigate to the folder where your class files are produced, you don't need the -classpath parameter on the "java" command, nor do you need to set a classpath environment variable. However, you should read up on the java command from Terminal:

java -?

to familiarize yourself with the command line options.

Todd

ChrisBrightwell

macrumors 68020
Apr 5, 2004
Huntsville, AL
Here's a quick and dirty example.

First, your source file. This is HelloWorld.java:

Code:
class HelloWorld
{
  public static void main (String args[])  
  {
    System.out.println("Hello, world!");
  }
}

Then in terminal, these are your commands:
Code:
% javac HelloWorld.java
% java -cp ./ HelloWorld