Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Thethuthinang

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 3, 2011
I just transferred my project between computers - from one running Xcode version 3.2.6 to one running version 4.6 (4H127). When running the program, I get a simple "Error loading" message. The main window appears to load ok visually, but everything is frozen. I can't even move the window. However, I can still access the main menu. The project compiles fine with no warnings. I am relatively new to Xcode 4. What could be causing this error? Let me know if I can provide any more information. (Since the error message is so terse, I can't think of any useful information.)

ytk

macrumors 6502
Jul 8, 2010
Well, try the usual stuff… First, trash the Xcode preferences and see if that helps. If not, try creating a new project and then copy all of the source code files, XIBs, and resources into that project (you'll probably have to do some reconfiguration of the project settings, but so much changed between Xcode 3 and 4 that you probably need to do that anyway).

You might also try opening up Console.app and see if there are any error messages being thrown up by Xcode in there.

Thethuthinang

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 3, 2011
Turns out the message was logged by one of my own classes (Doh! don't log vague messages), but the problem still remains and is not related to the message.

If I bypass the frozen window, and then escape back to it, everything works fine, and then freezes again when it loses focus. I also commented out the creation of the window and still had freezing problems (except the main menu is always accessible), so it may not be related to the window at all.

I exported the app to my old machine and it worked fine. Conversely, I exported the app from my old machine (using Xcode 3.2) and it still had problems on the new machine. So I don't think it is an Xcode problem.